User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: Computer won't boot up - Windows XP

  1. #1
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Computer won't boot up - Windows XP

    My home computer won't boot up. It's a desktop running Windows XP. All was fine last time I used it but now nothing. It was last shut down a few days ago using the "shut down" option as always - I didn't just turn the power off.

    All I'm getting on the screen is the usual DOS prompts such as "safe mode", "safe mode and networking" etc.. I've tried all the options listed to boot up but it keeps returning to this screen.

    I hope the computer gurus pick this one up as I desparately need to get on-line again and work on some files.

  2. #2
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Something's gone corrupt on the Windows files by the sounds of it - have you tried putting the Window's disc in and seeing if it can boot from that to allow you to repair it...?

  3. #3
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Penfold101 View Post
    Something's gone corrupt on the Windows files by the sounds of it - have you tried putting the Window's disc in and seeing if it can boot from that to allow you to repair it...?
    Busy looking in every place possible as we speak to try and find Windows disks. . Will let you know.

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Penfold101 View Post
    Something's gone corrupt on the Windows files by the sounds of it - have you tried putting the Window's disc in and seeing if it can boot from that to allow you to repair it...?
    As above, but first you will have to go into the BIOS and change the BOOT sequence to boot from CD first. Once you've changed it, save the change, put your XP disc in the CD player and restart your PC, when promted choose 'repair windows'. Good luck
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  5. #5
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Penfold101 View Post
    Something's gone corrupt on the Windows files by the sounds of it - have you tried putting the Window's disc in and seeing if it can boot from that to allow you to repair it...?
    Right, inserted XP disk, turned computer off at wall and the turned back on to see if disk would boot system. Alas, back to the screen with the five DOS options. Or am I putting the disk in at the wrong point?

    Gary - hang on, just going to try what you've said. Could be a while........ Do I get in to the BIOS via F8?

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Gotta tell the bios to select the CD rom.

  7. #7
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VauxVeteran View Post
    Gotta tell the bios to select the CD rom.
    Bear with me................

  8. #8
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gtr1000 View Post
    Right, inserted XP disk, turned computer off at wall and the turned back on to see if disk would boot system. Alas, back to the screen with the five DOS options. Or am I putting the disk in at the wrong point?

    Gary - hang on, just going to try what you've said. Could be a while........ Do I get in to the BIOS via F8?
    Restart the pc and just keep tapping 'DELETE' to enter setup. Change the boot sequence, hit 'ESC' to exit and it will ask if you want to exit and save changes, choose yes. Put the CD in and restart. It will now boot from the XP disc mate
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    West midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Could you take the BIOS battery out or not?

  10. #10
    Regular Member cornishpirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cornwall
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It may come up with a promt for you to press a button to boot from CD

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Computer help windows 7
    By marc vectra sri in forum General Chat
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 13th June 2012, 14:41
  2. Windows Wipers and Windows Washers
    By kevrod79 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th February 2009, 09:58
  3. anyone added trip computer/board computer?
    By Craig1985 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 02:33

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •