User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: BT And Moving Address

  1. #1
    Regular Member mark1319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default BT And Moving Address

    Just called BT move my phone line and Broadband and because there is currently no working phone line they want £122 to get it set up. I am currently contracted with them for my broadband and supposedly I would have to pay the outstanding amount if I chose not to continue my contract with them

  2. #2
    Regular Member mark1319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just checked and I've completed the 18month contract for my broadband so it'll be getting canceled I guess.

  3. #3
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    There are a couple of ways round this

    Does the person purchasing your house plan to keep/transfer BT?
    Does the new address have BT installed?
    Does the new address have cable capability?
    How long does your current broadband contract have left?

  4. #4
    Regular Member PeterVV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    south wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If there is no service ( PHONE ) at the new adress, then yes it is classed as a new provide, and as such you will get stung the full ammount. If the new address is occupied and has a working line then it should be possible to just have that stopped and re-started in your name with the agreement of the current tennant.If you want to keep your telephone number, it will depend on the exchange area.
    Check with the current tennant if the line has been ceased or just stopped.
    Whoever you choose as a provider, will probably sting you for a new service fee if there isnt any current service. All service providers have to go through BT Openreach to provide the line, and they charge the service provider, who pass the costs on to the user.
    So there may be nothing ( apart from rental costs, to gain from switching from BT )
    Last edited by PeterVV; 2nd January 2009 at 18:47.

  5. #5
    Regular Member mark1319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Does the person purchasing your house plan to keep/transfer BT?
    Not a purchase, armed forces move.
    Does the new address have BT installed?
    No and it has to be connected and Iget the joy of paying the £122 for this service
    Does the new address have cable capability?
    not sure until I get there next week.
    How long does your current broadband contract have left?
    It was an 18month contract from May 07, so I've completed it hence me thinking on canceling it. Might get the to do it for free, but can only hope.

  6. #6
    Regular Member dv8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    West Mids
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Veccy C

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : CDTi


    Default

    i hate being held to ransom, i agree mark, if you can, cancel and try to get them to agree to install, but they will ask for another 18month contract, if your gonna have it anyway it may save you £122.

  7. #7
    Regular Member mark1319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Can't speak to the current occupant as there wont be one. Will find out next Thursday when I move in if there's any current line.

    Problem is the mucks up my Sky as well Who want £60 for re-installation and I have a fair bit left of that contract.
    Last edited by mark1319; 2nd January 2009 at 19:12.

  8. #8
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've always managed to get the BT installation fee reduced to £50
    I took over another property recently, quoted the usual £105 plus VAT, and advised them I would leave it
    Received a phone call a few days later, responded that I was still considering it, but not happy at paying over £100
    A phone call the next day that if I agree to immediate installation they could do it for £50
    That's happened three times now...
    At all my other properties I now have Virgin Media installed instead, just not happy with BT at all

    I would have thought you would have the address and postcode of the new address
    If it is a forces address then I would pretty sure it won't have cable!

  9. #9
    Regular Member mark1319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have the new address, it's in a civilian area and my current house had cable when I moved in, still has, but I don't use it. Is there anyway to check who or if there's a current phone line as BT said they couldn't(Probably talking out their bum).

    Going to call them and say I'm canceling anyways, see what their response is.

  10. #10
    Regular Member PeterVV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    south wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mark1319 View Post
    I have the new address, it's in a civilian area and my current house had cable when I moved in, still has, but I don't use it. Is there anyway to check who or if there's a current phone line as BT said they couldn't(Probably talking out their bum).

    Going to call them and say I'm canceling anyways, see what their response is.
    I work for BT, and there is a way of checking an address to see if there is any service there, just depends on who you speak to when you call. Do you have the post code or full address?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 8th January 2013, 10:11
  2. CD 70 Sat Nav Delete Address
    By EPAX in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th August 2008, 09:17
  3. R/R Day - Address/Map
    By BigMan in forum East (RO - WhiskyNo7, ARO - Plasma)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14th October 2007, 19:40

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •