User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Removing standard headunit

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Removing standard headunit

    Anyone done a step by step headunit removal as i could really use one? also is there anyway of removing the cd left in without having the code to turn the unit on

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you can open the unit up and remove it that way.

    as pre removing the unit. you will need a set of double din removal keys. or if your feeling brave make some out of a wire coat hanger. once radio is out you will haev a quadlock connector and your antenna cables. prob 2 if you have GPS. you wil also have a long connector that goes to your screen as well as a smaller one.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Any pictures of this please?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you can sort of get the idea from here.
    http://forum.astraownersnetwork.co.u...ad.php?t=49220

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You will need a set of double din release tools. Available from halfords.

    On a prefacelift there are allen key grub screws blanking the holes, so you will need allen keys (not sure of size). On face lift the screws are not present.

    You insert both tools in the unit, and once engaged, use the two tools in unison to begin to move the head unit. once it has started to move, it gets easier until it is far enough forward you can get hold of it and it will then slide forward easily.

    It will then withdraw far enough, you can dsconnect the plug, and aerial.

    If you wish to remove the cage, you wil need a torx driver for the retaining screw, which is in the far end of the cage. on removing this, shine a torch and check there is not a second screw, on my facelift there wasn't.

    The cage is then 'stuck' in place with small foam pieces with adhesive on both sides. not dissimilar, but smaller than number plate sticky pads.

    It feels like the cage is still bolted, but once these start to give it slides out.

    It is that simple. And bear in mind, there is no code on most Vec C stereos, as it is in the ECU, and will automatically re load when you re-install the unit.

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by H11LGX; 2nd January 2009 at 14:50. Reason: spelling

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah okay, will have to get hold of a set of them tools. will give it a bash on sunday. Thanks all for the help

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I am having trouble removing mine at the moment. I baught the double din tool thing but it just pulled the face off my cd player now im stuck with the actual cd unit, cant seem to remove it at all. H11GX You mentioned usin an llen key? where on the unit do I use a allen key? cant seem to see where you would put it. Thanks

  8. #8
    Regular Member Mark-R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dundee
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : GSI

    Trim : (vxr/irmy)

    Engine : 3.2 v6

    Year : 2004

    Default

    the allen key screws would have been covering the holes you put the tool in when you put the tool in push it in far enough till to feel it pushing something at the other end .

  9. #9
    Regular Member paz_badboy4life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra SRi Dual Fuel NAV

    Trim : PreFace SRi

    Engine : 1.8 LPG

    Year : 53

    Default

    might be easier to remove the display above the HU and push from behind with your hand. its easy enough to do. remove the trim above the HU gently, undo screws, pull out display with heaters, and push from behind then put it all back together. simples.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers guy's. There is no Allen key screw's on mine so I think previous owner must have took them out at some point. I have removed the heaters and pushed from behind but it's jammed in good and proper. The 2 din tool don't seem to push any thing back when I put it in. just gose all the way in and when I push a part and pull out they just come straight out. I've read online that the standard units have springs that tend to break and when they do the unit is stuck in place. Think I'm going to have to take it vauxhall and get it sorted properly. While I'm on hear dose anyone know how I can enter a code to unlock my unit. Driving me mad having no radio?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible to put an amp on the standard headunit
    By crespo in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 26th November 2010, 08:44
  2. Please can some explain standard headunit range?
    By MCD in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th February 2009, 14:51
  3. Removing the headunit - Canbus
    By RobW in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th December 2008, 13:23
  4. Keeping Standard Headunit - Options
    By The Doc in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th March 2006, 08:45
  5. Standard Headunit In An SRI?
    By maz in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th November 2005, 22:07

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •