User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Nwe Hu Trip Comp not working

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Nwe Hu Trip Comp not working

    hi all

    today i finally tried to fit my new pioneer nav head unit.

    removed the 2013 nav unit. and installed the new pioneer avic hd3II.

    now this is where the problems started. i believed that if i removed the old hu and installed another i would still be able to use my steering controls to operate the Trip computer functions etc and just lose the volume navigation and skip functions.

    what i have discovered is that none of the steering buttons work for anything once the old hu is disconnected :-(

    my car is not the full canbus wheel it is the half which has 6 buttons

    what adapter do i need to purchase to re-enable access to the trip computer functions?

    the car is a 54plate signum elite

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ok lets make it a bit more of a simple question

    has anyone ever removed a 2013 nav unit and replaced it with an after market stereo?

  3. #3
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah, I believe Big Phil has done this on his GSi
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  4. #4
    Full Member plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    346 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    And his clocks now dont work lol. Unless hes done something since last summer. Got a funny feeling even though its not full canbus something must run through it.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    when i remove the standard head unit siemens vdo ndcd 2013 (built in nav) to replace with my pioneer avic nav unit i run into a problem.

    none of the steering wheel buttons work. and when i say none i mean i cant even use them to reset the mpg calc or click ok to dash warning messages like washer bottle is low on water etc.

    i ordered a connects to can adapter but the plug is the wrong one so took that back and got the auto leads iso style one. the problem is it doesnt make my steering controls work either the onboard comp or the new pioneer hu.

    i believe the hu is half canbus. this is causing me quite a headache.

    attached below is a pic of the connector on the standard unit.

    This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is sized 691x600.

    could people please help me identify each wire and what its for

    B=
    RGB-
    CANH = Can bus high input
    CANL =can bus low input
    Mute = mute
    TL+
    TL-
    G+
    Ter
    DBC
    Dia
    NC
    REV = Reverse
    R+
    SYn
    Shld
    NC
    CDL
    CD-
    CDR

    SVC
    AR
    SWC = Steering Wheel Control

    im a bit confused do i need to intergrate with the canbus system to get the steering controls working again?

    im almost at the point of installing the old hu in the boot to get the steering controls back for the blomin onboard computer.

    any wiring diagrams or suggested connectors would be a great help

    cheers

    Ash

  6. #6
    Full Member plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    346 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    What I need to do is to check the steering wheel controls which run through the CIM, see weather they run using low mid or high speed canbus and check how they interconnect to the info display and radio unit. Give me a day or so and I'll see what i can come up with for ya.

  7. #7
    Regular Member fenderguitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Portadown Co. Armagh N. Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    replaced my Sons headunit in his 2006 Astra with Pioneer Avic-d3 double din unit.Bought a lead which goes from the unit to steering control plug and it all worked fine.Full steering wheel control,

  8. #8
    Regular Member fenderguitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Portadown Co. Armagh N. Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fenderguitar View Post
    replaced my Sons headunit in his 2006 Astra with Pioneer Avic-d3 double din unit.Bought a lead which goes from the unit to steering control plug and it all worked fine.Full steering wheel control,
    Forgot to say here is where we got it www.online-caraudio.co.uk his was
    CA-R-PI.152 £59.99.Hope this helps

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yes thats the problem your sons 06 astra is full can bus where as mine is half can bus and half iso :-(

  10. #10
    Regular Member fenderguitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Portadown Co. Armagh N. Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sorry wasn't much help then.Hope you get it sorted

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. trip comp
    By daddy07 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd July 2010, 21:03
  2. Need advice on Trip Comp
    By stuart813 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th March 2010, 12:19
  3. Will the trip comp work???
    By bignak in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th March 2010, 22:44
  4. VECTRA-B Wiper Stalk with Trip Comp Buttons (MID)-SALOON
    By Vaux-Man-G in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th February 2010, 09:53
  5. cd30 - trip comp = HELP
    By installer in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 17th July 2005, 21:16

Visitors found this page by searching for:

steering wheel control SWC Siemens CDR 2005

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •