Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Default Turbo issue???

Hi folks,

I have a question to ask. Has anyone had the turbo replaced on their 2.2 diesel SRI Vectra.

I have a 04 plate 2.2 diesel SRI. In April 2007 after only 43k miles it started to go into limp mode at random times when driving normally. When it was looked at by the local vauxhall dealer the problem was diagnosed as various issues all of which were replaced to no avail and eventually they said it was the turbo - This was then replaced (under warranty) and the car ran fine again - UNTIL NOW!!

I have covered an additional 30k miles on the new turbo!!!!
    And now the car is suffering in exactly the same way. Every now and then the car will just go into limp mode.
    I took the car to another vauxhall dealer and.......... surprise surprise...... they say its the turbo.

I'm no expert here but to be on my third turbo after only 73k miles would sudgest there is an underlying problem.

Having spoken to the tech and stores guys at the Aberdeen dealer they say its a farily common issue. They even keep the turbo's on the shelf!!

What I dont understand is that they are managing to diagnose it as a turbo problem from pluging the car in to a diagnostics machine.
    I'm not aware of there being any wiring to the turbo?? oil, water, air - thats it!

Surely if the car is going into limp mode then it is picking up an electrical fault? Surely a turbo is a purely mechanical device.

I did hear something about a bearing in the turbo - but then surely there would have been a reason for this and fix for this on the new turbo???

I called vauxhall UK direct to discuss this and see what their take on this was but they were not very helpfull TBH.
    I was told that 30k is a considerable mileage for a turbo!!!! WHAT????
    They also said that they considered this to be acceptable.