User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: lagging games(PC)

  1. #1
    Regular Member Morephun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    everywhere
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vec c

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 150 cdti

    Year : 55

    Mileage : 108000

    Default lagging games(PC)

    just wondering if anyone knows a reason why my games would lag(stutter)for roughly a minute at the begining/start of a map or round??
    this happens on bf2 bf2142 and cod4 havent tried any other games yet!it really getting to me now!!!!!!

    my system specs

    vista ultimate 32
    e6600
    2gb dominator 8500
    xfx 8800gt
    650w hiper psu
    2x wd raid (stripe)cant remember which number lol

  2. #2
    Regular Member poves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    lancashire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Wat bb package you on ?

  3. #3
    Regular Member Morephun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    everywhere
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vec c

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 150 cdti

    Year : 55

    Mileage : 108000

    Default

    moved from bt to tiscali 8mb unlimited ,but this only happens for the first minute of playing games then all is fine. i get a good ping about 30ish on most servers?

  4. #4
    Regular Member poves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    lancashire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have u got all latest drivers for your video card ? , is your directx upto date ?.
    Have you any antivirus programmes or the like that could be blocking it ?

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    This might be a help, have you allowed them a port to connect through in Window's and any other software firewall.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Morephun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    everywhere
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vec c

    Trim : sri

    Engine : 150 cdti

    Year : 55

    Mileage : 108000

    Default

    nah dont think its firewall related ,all drivers are up to date even the bios...i ran ntune and found out that my network is running ok as is my processor but my hard drives go right to the top of the scale..thing is it only happens for a minute then it settles down and plays awsome...it does annoy me as the first few seconds of each round on bf2/2142 is important to get into the jet and rape enemy bases...I havnt a clue what is happening..do i need more ram do you think??

  7. #7
    Regular Member JKB89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Newport
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah it could be the RAM (you only have 2 gig on Vista? If i've read it correctly)

    I'd recommend upgrading another gig or so, Im running 4gig on my home PC and it's fine even with a terrible graphics card.

    My laptop however only has 2 gig of Ram and seems to struggle with anything remotely intensive.


    Best of luck

  8. #8
    Regular Member falco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cockermouth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    But if you ain't using the 64bit version of Vista you won't get the full 4gig.

    I used to get 3.2gig of mem under the 32bit version. But moved over to the 64bit and I now get the full 4gig.

  9. #9
    Ex-Admin Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by falco View Post
    But if you ain't using the 64bit version of Vista you won't get the full 4gig.

    I used to get 3.2gig of mem under the 32bit version. But moved over to the 64bit and I now get the full 4gig.
    If you have the Vista SP1 update you should be fine, Vista ultimate (32Bit) on my Dell XPS laptop used to show up as only 3.5Gb, it now shows and uses the full 4Gb after Vista SP1.. I'd say it is more than likely to be just the maps loading into the cache memory the game uses, i used to play BF2142 and have lag at start up, but that was a long time ago on an XP Desktop.. might be able to reduce lag with a faster HD, Bigger cache on HD or more RAM..
    Last edited by Big-Pete; 19th December 2008 at 13:40.

  10. #10
    Ex-Admin Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Your PC should be able to easily cope with the games requirements..


    BF2142 System Requirements

    In order to install and play Battlefield 2142, your system must meet or exceed the following minimum system requirements.

    Operating System: Windows XP with latest service pack installed DirectX 9.0c February 2006 edition (included)
    CPU: 1.7 Ghz
    RAM: 512 Mb
    Video Card: 128Mb DirectX compliant video card, Pixel shader 2.0 and above.
    Hard Drive space: 1.8Gb of space is required to install the game
    Internet connection: 128kbit Cable/DSL connection

    In order to play the game at the recommended resolution, detail and performance levels, your computer should match or exceed the following specifications:

    Operating System: Windows XP with latest service pack installed DirectX 9.0c February 2006 edition (included)
    CPU: 3.0 Ghz
    RAM: 1.5 Gb
    Video Card: 256Mb DirectX compliant video card, Pixel shader 2.0 and above.
    Hard Drive space: 1.8Gb of space is required to install the game
    Internet connection: 512Mb Cable/DSL connection

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vectra cdti 120 bhp. Air Leak? Turbo lagging?
    By colin IC in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th March 2010, 19:22
  2. Ps3 Games
    By bigmac in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th February 2010, 18:31
  3. ps3 games
    By delboy2028 in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd February 2010, 15:27
  4. PS3 Games?
    By Steven in forum Games Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th December 2007, 20:54
  5. Vx lagging behind!
    By Caterman in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th May 2007, 20:35

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •