Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

confused remaps and chips

hi everybody,i've been thinking about going down to the local performance garage and checkig out about gettin my car chipped and remapped,but i've also been talking to my friend about it too and he said that they usually take it to the higest limit,as in remapping it and gettin the most out of its power.but doing this,would the engine be going under too much strain,and if it will would i need to by aftermarket products for example a new clutch that will take the higher power? :S confused i'm not engineer lol i'm just a simple plumber,so if anyone knows about this could you help,i'm driving a 1.9CDTI 150,and also if anyones had it done what do you think of the outcome? thanks for having a read

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

It all depends on the remap. Any increase in power is obviously going to put more stress on the engine, but as long as it's done sensibly and in harmony with the engine then any long-term reduction in life of engine/clutch etc. will be minimised. That's why tuning boxes aren't as sympathetic to the engine than a good remap as the box just alters one factor, fuelling, by fooling the engine - no regards for anything else so long term not good. A remap will alter fuelling but a whole lot of other variables too to make the car work in harmony and to be more driveable.

If you're looking at a remap then you get what you pay for and remaps from the likes of BSR, VXRPC/888/EDS are all very much tried and tested.

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats