User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: I.T help needed - RAM upgrade?

  1. #1
    Regular Member Vauxhall Thru & Thru's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Nottingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused I.T help needed - RAM upgrade?

    I need help, please ?! I want to upgrade the RAM on my Macbook, but...

    * What brands are good? Which are bad? Does it make a difference?
    * Given the below RAM type, where can I get them from (x2) at a good price?

    DDR2 SO-DIMM
    1.25 inch or smaller
    2GB
    200-pin
    PC2-5300 DDR2 667 MHz Type RAM

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I bought my upgrade from these, they have a lot of advice on the website and good prices www.crucial.com/uk

    Hope it helps

  3. #3
    Regular Member nellsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    berkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    This is where I go for all my ram upgrades.

    http://www.crucial.com/uk

  4. #4
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Crucial or Kingston

  5. #5
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Both Crucial and Kingston have guides on their sites that will give you suitable part numbers, then just use the usual suspects search engines to find the prices and suppliers.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Robbie69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I used Crucial it has a tool that scans your comp at tells you exactly what you need, good price, turned up quick and had no issues. HTH

  7. #7
    Ex Vec-C Admin / Founder Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As already said - Crucial or Kingston.

    Be wary of the Crucial tool though - it's not always correct or will often only suggest matched memory when a generic one will do at a lot less £££.

  8. #8
    Regular Member MrT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Near Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah - I picked 2GB of the faster RAM on Crucial's site, supposedly matched to the Dell, and they shipped the slower variant - worked fine, but my laptop slowed itself down to match the new RAM. Fail. Dell's BIOS doesn't allow the user to specify RAM speed, (fail again), which would have been a way around this. Only £24 for the 2x1GB sticks though, and it was very reliable.

    However, avoid the ValueRAM from Kingston if you can - I used to manage a big network and we went through a batch to upgrade about 200 PCs that had around a 25% failure rate.

  9. #9
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Mac's can be a bit picky with ram so don't get generic, get the spec specifically designed for it - I know a few Apple shops fit the Kingston sticks if they have no stock of the over priced Apple ones.

  10. #10
    Ex Vec-C Admin / Founder Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrT View Post
    However, avoid the ValueRAM from Kingston if you can - I used to manage a big network and we went through a batch to upgrade about 200 PCs that had around a 25% failure rate.
    Yikes, that's a hefty failure rate! I almost got 8Gb of that for my workstation as the price was almost too good to resist - and I did wonder what the 'catch' was in terms of reliability etc. That answers my question! Thankfully I was steered away from getting it and got the 'full flavour' Kingston stuff.

    Quote Originally Posted by JuzzyD View Post
    Mac's can be a bit picky with ram so don't get generic, get the spec specifically designed for it....
    Good point! I'd forgotten about that.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th December 2010, 21:48
  2. Big brake upgrade - Info needed
    By Gavin2.6 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th April 2010, 21:38
  3. Break upgrade - prices and whats needed...
    By Leemarksmith in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd December 2009, 10:55
  4. Brake Upgrade What's Needed
    By sunbeam250bhp in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 27th March 2009, 23:22
  5. 314mm upgrade help needed right now!!
    By Vid in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 19th January 2008, 18:48

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •