User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How to upgrade from sky+ to sky+HD

  1. #1
    Regular Member Neil71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default How to upgrade from sky+ to sky+HD

    Hi,
    I am presently a sky+ customer and would like to know if anyone knows how to upgrade to sky+HD for as little cost as possible. I talked to sky and they are asking £99.99 for HD box, £60.00 for installation and also £10.00 extra per month.
    Any info greatly appreciated.
    Neil

  2. #2
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    I have sky HD with no subscription.. can only view about three hd channels though (better than nothing and the box isn't white..)

    Do you know any sky engineers..guy by me has just got one for £75 fitted.. no subscription like me.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Neil71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I don't know of anyone around me who works for sky. Does anybody know of anyone in the northeast of Scotland that works for sky because £75 looks to be a more realistic price to what we should be paying.

  4. #4
    Regular Member LJ sxi-nav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Winchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    installation seems a bit steep! as you have sky+ you already have the 2 feeds from the dish into the house. It should just be a straight swap of boxes.
    tell them you are leaving sky, then see what offers they throw at you to keep you !

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    N.Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    unless you know a sky engineer then your best bet is to threaten to cancel.
    You won't avoid the subscription charge, but tell them your leaving and state that it's because you want HD and that you have asked for a good deal but they won't give you one etc etc.

    See what they throw at you.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phatty View Post
    unless you know a sky engineer then your best bet is to threaten to cancel.
    You won't avoid the subscription charge, but tell them your leaving and state that it's because you want HD and that you have asked for a good deal but they won't give you one etc etc.

    See what they throw at you.
    I tried that but they wouldn't offer me anything. There is such a long wait for HD boxes that I doubt they need to offer much just before Xmas. I finished up buying a box from Tesco for £199, installed it myself, then contacted Sky to have the card swapped.

    Why do they have to make the box a different shape & size to everything else though, it stands out like a sore thumb

  7. #7
    Regular Member Neil71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just called sky and I asked about HD, the best price they could give me was £99.00 for box and £60 for installation. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told that this is the best offer and they couldn't do ant better. I told the supervisor that after being a customer for 17 years I was seriously thinking about cancelling as sky wasn't looking after existing customers and the supervisor then told me to go onto subscription department and arrange cancellation!!!!

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    N.Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil71 View Post
    Just called sky and I asked about HD, the best price they could give me was £99.00 for box and £60 for installation. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told that this is the best offer and they couldn't do ant better. I told the supervisor that after being a customer for 17 years I was seriously thinking about cancelling as sky wasn't looking after existing customers and the supervisor then told me to go onto subscription department and arrange cancellation!!!!
    go through to that dept. then... most of the time the cancellation dept. has more authority than the sales teams as they want to keep customers etc.

    And hey, whats the worst that can happen, if they go through with the cancellation then just sign up again with an introductory offer.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Neil71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'll try calling their bluff by saying that I will cancel and see what happens.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Dwabo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Carterton, Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    it usually works.. i threaten to cancel every time they try to charge me 60 quid a service charge to fix their faulty boxes!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. upgrade the 314mm to vxr set up or upgrade the rears?????
    By rob warrington in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th September 2012, 09:26
  2. gid upgrade
    By booker413 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th April 2010, 16:48
  3. Looking to upgrade
    By Mark2.2 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th March 2010, 20:17
  4. upgrade on upgrade
    By nph1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd April 2009, 23:27
  5. upgrade done what next ?
    By nph1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19th April 2009, 22:46

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •