User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: JVC and Steering Controls

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question JVC and Steering Controls

    Hi all,

    Has anyone sucessfully got the steering wheel remotes on a GSi working with a JVC head unit?

    Last week I decided to treat myself to a JVC head unit (KD-AVX1, the one with the screem in it) and all the connecting cables including the Auto Leads adaptor (PC99-X06 & PC99-JVC). I have connected everything up and surprise surprise the steering wheel remote does not work

    Has anyone managed to get them working with a JVC head unit?

    I spent most of the day on Saturday at the stereo shop trying to get it working. They have tried to change all the leads etc and still does not work. The shp have now been on the phone to JVC and other shops trying to see if anyone can help.

    Can anyone offer any advice apart from throwing the whole lot in the bin?!

    Mark

    PS Would post some pictures but have not got any less that 100K in size!

  2. #2
    Regular Member markspark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    scarborough
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    have you got the buttons or the thumb wheels on your steering wheel??? was going to buy the same set up from halfrauds, and they said it should work ok ! and as we know there never wrong

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markspark
    have you got the buttons or the thumb wheels on your steering wheel??? was going to buy the same set up from halfrauds, and they said it should work ok ! and as we know there never wrong
    Got the buttons on mine. Halfrauds said it would work with mine as well as the stereo shop..... Hopefully they will sort it soon, cus i'm really missing them at the mo!!

  4. #4
    Regular Member markspark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    scarborough
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    where did you get it from , and how much did you pay???

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markspark
    where did you get it from , and how much did you pay???
    Got it from Midland Car Audio and paid £340 for the unit. Can get it cheaper on line, but they said if I require any advice installing it they would help. Good job really!!

    If I can get it working with the remote, I would strongly recomend it.

  6. #6
    Regular Member markspark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    scarborough
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    do you know if it can be played while driving as halfrauds said it had to be connected to the handbrake,so that you cant watch dvd while driving??

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's supposed to be wired into the handbrake, but the wire that goes to the hand break just need to be connected to a ground point, i.e. the 0 volt cable to the radio or just wrapped around the ariel connector.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Steering controls
    By Kramel in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th September 2013, 08:02
  2. Steering controls
    By Kramel in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th June 2012, 14:24
  3. steering controls
    By dcm23251981 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2nd February 2012, 01:42
  4. Steering Controls & JVC
    By Thom in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th November 2010, 15:23
  5. steering controls
    By russ32434 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th March 2010, 23:26

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •