User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Orange Wireless router????

  1. #1
    Regular Member glenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sunny Dartmoor
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Orange Wireless router????

    Hi everyone,my parents want to use a laptop i gave them wirelessly but haven't got a wireless router,can you buy any wireless router and manually put the settings in or do they have to have the orange one,also do they have to contact orange to do any of it????

    Any help would be appreciated......

  2. #2
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    im with orange and on a 18mth contract

    but you can but a mobile dongel from vodafone, orange, 3 and 02 as it just plugs into the usb port on the laptop and you have wireless anywhere for about £15 per mth

    hths glen

  3. #3
    Regular Member glenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sunny Dartmoor
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    They are already with Orange glynn,just want to use the laptop downstairs,wirelessly..... Thanks for the reply m8......

  4. #4
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yes you can glen i have a buffalo adsl router boxed which we dont use anymore pm me if your interested glen and you shouldnt have to contact orange if you know how to connect it

  5. #5
    Regular Member fields's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Lincoln
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if they are with orange (wanadoo) on broadband all they need is a router. if they still have the old speedtouch modem ring orange and ask for a wireless modem, livebox or seimens. then just do as it says on the packet.
    ps they give the router free to customers

  6. #6
    Regular Member garvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Co Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    make sure if you don't get one from orange that its one they recomend other wise if you have problems they will not help

  7. #7
    Regular Member glenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sunny Dartmoor
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks guys will ring Orange and hope they get one for free....

  8. #8
    VIP-Member brifen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Fareham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Signum 2.0 DTI (Irmscher)

    Trim : Elegance

    Engine : 2.0 DTI 100 bhp

    Year : 2003

    Default

    The wireless routers that orange give out do actually work very well, I use mine day in day out with no probs.

    Although for any broadband line, if you so wish you can just buy your own wireless router and install that. Stick to the major brands to get good quality (Netgear, DLink, LinkSYS). I would personally reccomend Netgear routers thay are the best IMO.

    All you have to do is log into a Netgear router use the Setup Wizard tell it your username and password for internet and that it up and running. Change the default wireless password/security if you want and job done!!

    I have put in quite litterally about 30 to 40 Netgear routers for different people and have never yet had a Netgear Router give up the ghost. Of course the odd powerpack has gone but never a problem with the router (always recommend a Surge Protector 4 way gang for computer anyway).

    Bri.
    Today!! The new tomorrow, live the NOW!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless router
    By steve1975l in forum General Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 17th September 2008, 22:21
  2. wireless router
    By stuart bigboy in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 10:41
  3. wireless router help
    By tonypc1 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th March 2008, 20:16
  4. New Wireless Router - HELP!!!
    By jonnye in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd June 2007, 22:32
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th November 2006, 10:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •