User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Sky+ Question

  1. #1
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Sky+ Question

    I have a Sky+ box for the living room and i have a old normal sky box thats used in the bedroom "multiroom". Well the bedroom one is playing up and buzzing/switching itself off.
    I would like to replace the old box for a sky+box is this possible.

  2. #2
    Regular Member ANDY W's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WINSFORD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I would say yes but I dont know how much it would cost though. Speak to sky and see what they offer or upgrade the +box with a HD+ box that way you have the old box for upstairs

  3. #3
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ANDY W View Post
    I would say yes but I dont know how much it would cost though. Speak to sky and see what they offer or upgrade the +box with a HD+ box that way you have the old box for upstairs
    I was thinking of that Andy.
    I'll give them a call tomorrow.
    Just been looking on ebay and their is plenty of cheap sky+ box's i was just wondering if it was possible to do.

    Just been on the sky site. Hopefully i can just buy a second hand box.
    Sky+HD Price Notes
    Sky+HD Box £99 online
    (normally £150)
    If taken with the HD Pack (otherwise £399)
    HD Pack £10 a month The HD channels you receive depend on your Sky TV channel package. The HD Pack price is additional to your Sky TV subscription.
    Standard set up £60 One off standard set up cost
    Last edited by shan; 23rd November 2008 at 00:14.

  4. #4
    Regular Member ANDY W's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WINSFORD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think you will need to register the box to the card as I had to do this a while back before the + age as my box failed and my dad had a spare and at first it wouldnt work but a quick call to sky sorted it out. But if they are cheap on Ebay I would go for it

  5. #5
    Regular Member taffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Minera, Wrexham.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Get a second hand Sky+ box. You will need to run another cable from the LNB to the bedroom. Once you have done it you will have to phone Sky to pair the card and box. (make sure you tell them you have 2 Sky + boxes.)

  6. #6
    Regular Member gromit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cumbernauld
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You can buy a secondhand sky+ box and just swop it for your bedroom box but will only be able to record what you are watching because there is only one cable/feed coming from the dish. To get the full function you will have to run another cable from your bedroom box to the dish. Sky+ and HD have twin tuners built in so require two signals. Or get an HD box for your main box (same connections as sky+ but uses HDMI cable in place of the scart lead and move sky+ into bedroom.

    If you swop the bedroom box just take the card from old box and insert it into new box then call sky and ask them to pair the card and switch on the record function. Engineer number is 08442410128 press option 2 then listen for your region and press the corresponding number then option 4. They will ask you for the version, serial and card number and you get them by pressing services,4,5 on your sky remote.

  7. #7
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks a lot guy's great help. Thanks Gromit for the number etc

  8. #8
    Regular Member Dwabo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Carterton, Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    threaten them with leaving and they will do it for free!!... that worked with us.. although we just got a normal box for free with free instalation!

  9. #9
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Spoke to Sky today and they want 150 quid for a new Sky+ box and installation. Told them to forget it.
    I'll be speaking to a friendly Sky installer tomorrow

  10. #10
    Regular Member gromit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cumbernauld
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shan View Post
    Spoke to Sky today and they want 150 quid for a new Sky+ box and installation. Told them to forget it.
    I'll be speaking to a friendly Sky installer tomorrow
    Hi there. I could get you a used sky+ box for £65 delivered. Contact me if you are interested.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. GSI Inner tie rod question.
    By Lee_gsi in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th August 2011, 19:46
  2. question about hid
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22nd July 2011, 23:15
  3. Vaux-Com / Op-Com question - Screen change question
    By AntSSSS in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th May 2010, 23:54
  4. Just a question...!
    By Maxim007 in forum Styling
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th January 2010, 20:12
  5. BSR question
    By soulman in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6th October 2007, 22:55

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •