User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Xbox 360 online play internet speeds?

  1. #1
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Xbox 360 online play internet speeds?

    I'm looking at getting a Xbox 360, just the basic Arcade job and COD 5. BUT... My Internet Provider is AOL and my internet speed is only 1mb. Playing COD 4 online on my PC is fine, no lagging etc, that I know of anyway!

    So, before I part with the cash and waste it, should I even bother?

    Also, how does the Xbox live work? Do I have to payout for that???

    Cheers guys

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    1Mb will be just fine.

    Re cost, you often get vouchers/scratch cards in games that let you sign up for a short period for free on Xbox Live (Gold subscription) and you can then renew. The basic Xbox Live (Silver)is free but limited in features. Gold is what lets you play online with other people and is £40 per year. You can pay monthly but it works out a fair bit more expensive that way.

  3. #3
    Regular Member sonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Away with the fairies.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Depending on the time of day I get anything between 800K and 4 Mgb!
    My Xbox runs fine at all times when on Xbox Live.
    All I would say is that if you wanna go online then get the xbox with the hard drive, it's not much more money but is a far better piece of kit.

  4. #4
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Why would I need the harddrive? I'm only ever going to use it for the gaming...? Doesnt it come with a memory card?

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You can get the basic console and use memory cards, but it really is a PITA to use the console that way. For the small extra cost you are definitely better getting a hard drive version - you'll be able to download demos etc. and simply have more storage space.

    Also, with the new dashboard about to launch (18th) it will have the option where it caches the game to the hard drive to allow faster loading/playing as it won't be accessing the game disc all the time. Bonus of that is that it'll make the whole thing quieter too!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    south ockendon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    as Duncan says, better to pay out the little bit extra for the one with a hard drive, is easier to keep all your game saves on there, and with all the downloadable add ons that become available you will need one in the end
    i only use a memory card to keep my profile on it to swap between consoles, i wouldnt use it for game saves

  7. #7
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks guys, looks like its the 60gb one then... Thanks for the advice... I'm sure the miss's will be very greatful LOL

  8. #8
    Regular Member jonesy_ni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Co Antrim
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I was going for the arcade also, but i post this post up http://forum.vectra-c.com/showthread.php?t=62227 and changed my mind.

    My Mrs will also be very grateful, as its my xmas prezzie

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. speedtest .... internet speeds
    By Deztroyer in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 16th March 2011, 22:24
  2. Halo 2 Last EVER chance to play online..
    By markone in forum Games Room
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th April 2010, 22:14
  3. Anyone Play Left For Dead 2 online with PC
    By Telboy in forum Games Room
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd January 2010, 19:30
  4. how to play divx , avi on xbox
    By The Gas Man in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd August 2009, 22:56
  5. WII online.... can you play online
    By m3ath3ad in forum Games Room
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 26th April 2009, 22:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •