User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Pc to TV

  1. #1
    Regular Member Dwabo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Carterton, Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Pc to TV

    just downloaded a few tv programmes from iplayer..and instead of watching them on the pc, was wondering if there was anything i need to hook the pc up to the tv instead..
    have got the connections on the back of the tv..is it just a matter of plugging the monitor cable into the back of the tv??.. or is there anything else i need to do?..

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    N.Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if you have VGA in on your TV then your sorted.
    just plug it in and away you go - depending on your graphics card it will auto adjust to the best settings so you won't have to do anything at all - for example my ATI Radeon recognises my Samsung 42" and adjusts accordingly, even sets the correct refresh rate etc etc.

    speaking on which i've just had delivered today a DVI to HDMI connector so i can output 1080 video from my PC to TV

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    Doesn't your computer have a HDMI outlet?? If so, just buy a cable for about a fiver from wilko's. Or a bit more from gold plated terminals or longer leads.

  4. #4
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If your TV has HDMI or DVI inputs, and your PC has a DVI port then you can link them using a DVI cable (or in the case of your TV having HDMI a DVI to HDMI cable).

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Slight hijack....
    Quote Originally Posted by Phatty View Post
    if you have VGA in on your TV then your sorted.
    My plasma TV has that and that's how I currently connect the laptop to the plasma screen....
    Quote Originally Posted by Phatty View Post
    ....speaking on which i've just had delivered today a DVI to HDMI connector so i can output 1080 video from my PC to TV
    ...but the docking station that the laptop sits in when it's in the AV rack also has a DVI output, so would I benefit from a DVI to HDMI cable or will I not see any/much difference over the VGA connection?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    N.Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if i'm right chaps Dwabo is just talking about a standard VGA 15pin D-Sub connector...

    it was me that got on to the DVI topic sorry

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    N.Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    Slight hijack....
    My plasma TV has that and that's how I currently connect the laptop to the plasma screen.......but the docking station that the laptop sits in when it's in the AV rack also has a DVI output, so would I benefit from a DVI to HDMI cable or will I not see any/much difference over the VGA connection?
    depends really...

    my setup only supports 1024x768 over VGA but increased resolution over DVI so thats why i'm switching.

    For everyday use then VGA is fine, but if your looking to use it to play video's (HTPC) or gaming then i'd switch to DVI.

    VGA is analog where DVI is digital so it works differently...

    quote from Wiki:
    The DVI interface uses a digital protocol in which the desired illumination of pixels is transmitted as binary data. When the display is driven at its native resolution, it will read each number and apply that brightness to the appropriate pixel. In this way, each pixel in the output buffer of the source device corresponds directly to one pixel in the display device, whereas with an analog signal the appearance of each pixel may be affected by its adjacent pixels as well as by electrical noise and other forms of analog distortion.

  8. #8
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI NAV XP

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 72K

    Default

    For those of you like me who don't have an additional VGA or a DVI output from your PC, then you can use a Scan converter such as AverKey100 Pro which sits between the PC and the monitor, and has video RCA jack and s-vhs sockets to connect to your TV. Not as good as a dedicated digital connection but it works.

  9. #9
    Regular Member ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The local dealers if driving my old Vectra
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have a look at Keene Electronics who have connectors for just about any thing to anything.... also CPC.co.uk ( who are supplied by KE )..... I've used both in the past with no problems.

    Terran

  10. #10
    Regular Member Dwabo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Carterton, Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ... fell at the first really...
    it wont connect to the tv for some reason..
    any ideas??..
    connected with the d-sub connector from the back of the pc to the tv.. but it wont come on?..
    what else do i need to make it work??..help.. please!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Visitors found this page by searching for:

packard bell imedia 1518 pwc plug

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •