User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Portfolio - anyone else have to do this?

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Angry Portfolio - anyone else have to do this?

Fuming now, I've spent what seems like months putting together a professional portfolio. It hasn't been months, it's only been hours really, but it's been spread over the last few months because I felt so strongly about the futility of it.

Let me expand on that a little...

I'm a paramedic. Now EVERYONE knows what paramedics do. I drive a builder's van or ropey old car with blue lights on, I pick up incontinent old ladies and vomit-covered teenagers, and take them to hospital where I drink the world's worst machine coffee. Right?

But the governing body for paramedics (who FFS should know better than anyone what I do for a living) insist that I produce a portfolio of evidence to prove that I do what I do.

Now, if they want to see what jobs I've attended over the last year, they can just print it off from the control room database. So just by hitting Ctrl-P they can see, at a glance, my activation times, response times, any drugs given, skills used, etc, etc, etc, whatever they wanted to see.

Instead, I've been made to produce a pointless paper trail of policies, procedures, reflective essays and case studies. Most of this guff I have simply downloaded from the Trust intranet and printed out, exactly like everyone else has done. So what does this prove? That I'm capable of paramedic-level printing?

Anyone else forced to do pointless paper exercises like this, for absolutely no gain?

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats