User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: After Market Head - FM Connection ( To amp or not to amp )

  1. #1
    Regular Member ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The local dealers if driving my old Vectra
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default After Market Head - FM Connection ( To amp or not to amp )

    Guys.... quick question - in the real world of after market heads do you need a custom connector with an amp ( normally like a silver bulit type joby half way on the adaptor ) or just a straight through convertor for the connections ?

    I'm trying to get my USB radio working with the car arieal how ever although I know its amped I'm not sure if its powered at the base or via the FM feed.... the above should help me work that out.

    Mines an 07 face lift btw.

    TIA

    Terran

  2. #2
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Based on my last attempt at an install, and the shocking FM signal as a result, I would say that the FM antenna must be amplified. Whether that's done within the HU or if one of the quadlock pins provides power, I don't know.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    This will be exactly what you need:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Straight-Jack-...d=p3286.c0.m14

    Just bought one off the same guy, came in a few days, works 100%. I'm feeding the power from the Electric Antenna feed on my Kenwood.

  4. #4
    Ex-Staff Full Member Ian T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Skynet HQ EMEC#5
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    On my '53' plate sxi, I replaced the CDR2005 head unit for a Sony one. I then fitted a shark fin type aerial as some of you may have seen. The only problem was, I had no radio reception, even though it was an amplified type that connected to the existing aerial power feed. I wasn't bothered at the time because I used mp3 discs.
    A couple of months ago, I wanted to try & sort radio reception so I can get traffic reports (fed up of being sat in traffic). I removed the panel in the drivers footwell where the bonnet release is, & found the aerial lead & power lead. I tested this to see if there was power coming from the headunit & there was(when turned on).
    I stripped down my old aerial base to see how the wiring was connected, photos below:




    I have fitted a new, genuine base, & the signal is spot on, seems even better than it was originally.
    The shark fin type had an amplifier, but was cr@p
    Last edited by Ian T; 30th October 2008 at 09:40.

  5. #5
    Regular Member ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The local dealers if driving my old Vectra
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by _ZS_ View Post
    This will be exactly what you need:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Straight-Jack-...d=p3286.c0.m14

    Just bought one off the same guy, came in a few days, works 100%. I'm feeding the power from the Electric Antenna feed on my Kenwood.
    Yep thats the one I have.... the blue goes to + doesnt it ?

    Dont know if this is any intrest but here is the insides of one....



    Quote Originally Posted by Ian T View Post
    On my '53' plate sxi, I replaced the CDR2005 head unit for a Sony one. I then fitted a shark fin type aerial as some of you may have seen. The only problem was, I had no radio reception, even though it was an amplified type that connected to the existing aerial power feed. I wasn't bothered at the time because I used mp3 discs.
    A couple of months ago, I wanted to try & sort radio reception so I can get traffic reports (fed up of being sat in traffic). I removed the panel in the drivers footwell where the bonnet release is, & found the aerial lead & power lead. I tested this to see if there was power coming from the headunit & there was(when turned on).
    I stripped down my old aerial base to see how the wiring was connected, photos below:




    I have fitted a new, genuine base, & the signal is spot on, seems even better than it was originally.
    The shark fin type had an amplifier, but was cr@p
    So are you saying even if I use the right adaptor the signal may still be carp ?

    Terran

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ccsnet View Post
    Yep thats the one I have.... the blue goes to + doesnt it ?
    It does, as I said I used the Kenwood's electric antenna feed which sends out +12v when the stereo is on (originally designed to power a motorised antenna).

    So are you saying even if I use the right adaptor the signal may still be carp ?

    Terran
    It's very possible, the amp on the antenna base can sometimes get damp and fry itself. Though I've had no problems with any of the Vauxhall ones before, a lot of the Skodas at work tend to have problems with water ingress on the antenna amp.

  7. #7
    Regular Member ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The local dealers if driving my old Vectra
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm thinking I may just use a bit of wire placed in the right spot at the moment.... its only for radio 4 at the end of the day.

    Terran

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. After market head unit
    By Bigpimpinpete in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd July 2012, 23:25
  2. after market switch connection question
    By Mads in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 13th April 2012, 21:40
  3. cd70 to after market head unit
    By 19CDTIvec in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th July 2011, 23:22
  4. Installing an after market head unit
    By !tf in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th April 2011, 17:06
  5. CD70 sat nav - After market head unit ?
    By Vectra Boi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th October 2009, 01:13

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •