User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Back to standard but more problems

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Back to standard but more problems

    You might remember the thread I put up a week or so back about having two cars remapped and it threw the computers out, they were giving us stupid readings like 80+mpg, well obviously we didn't want to live with the cars like that so we have just received a full refund and had them put back to standard, but now another problem.

    Neither car will rev above 3500rpm, no shortage of power before then but when they get near 3500 they just seem to shut off. Friend of mine thinks they have gone into limp/safe mode but he admits he is no expert. So now I'm asking you experts???

    If this is the case what is the likely cost (roughly) to take them to a Vx dealer and get them sorted.

    Cars are Vectra and Astra cdti 150s

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The fuel computers are rubbish anyway, the guage is much better and work out the mpg with manual calculations on fill ups. If its in limp home mode the spanner light will be on. If they are under warranty then book them in, if they are not, go back to the remappers and ask what have they done!
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    The fuel computers are rubbish anyway, the guage is much better and work out the mpg with manual calculations on fill ups. If its in limp home mode the spanner light will be on. If they are under warranty then book them in, if they are not, go back to the remappers and ask what have they done!
    The spanner light is definitely not on so looks like the limp home thing is out of the equasion. The Astra is under warranty the Vectra not, I've just been on the phone to the lad that done the remap and he's never heard of anything like this before. Thanks for the advise.

  4. #4
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have you tried disconnecting the battery for half hour to reset all the codes etc.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    Have you tried disconnecting the battery for half hour to reset all the codes etc.
    I tried it but just for about 10 mins and it made no difference, if you think it needs longer then I'll give it a go.

  6. #6
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Try it for longer, nothing to lose
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  7. #7
    Regular Member bigcarman79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pontefract
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sounds like the rev limiter has been set to 3500rpm, may need a tech 2 session to set it back to what it was...perhaps their is a bug in there program thats has caused this?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    worst case scenario....they will have to have the base maps flashed back on by tech2...that should cure them....you'l be charged 1 or 2 hours labour per car dependant on if they can use current software.. it'll be more if they have to 'wind back' their software..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Back to standard
    By KeefyB in forum Quick Photo Album
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th October 2011, 09:01
  2. Very Sad Car back to standard
    By cameraman in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th March 2009, 23:06
  3. Car is Back to Standard
    By mark1319 in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 5th June 2008, 06:39
  4. Need To Put Her Back To Standard
    By 21_03_sxi in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13th January 2008, 19:01
  5. Back to standard.
    By Marty J CDTI in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th November 2007, 14:27

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •