User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DVD90-Cannot change navi address while driving

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NL
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default DVD90-Cannot change navi address while driving

    Hi!

    Recently, I was trying to change my destination address on my DVD90 Navi while I was driving.
    I saw that the address details were not accessible/changeable at driving time. Only after stopping the car completely it became possible to enter a new destination address.
    Although I know it's not safe to change navigation parameters when driving, I would like to be able to change them at any time.
    Does anyone have found a solution for this?

    Thanks and regards!!

  2. #2
    Regular Member Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sunderland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    only way round it, as far as I can remember, is to "slightly" put the handbrake on. Someone may correct me.
    Its an inbuilt safety feature to stop people being distracted whilst driving, on items like TomTom and Garmin it states not to change anything while driving everytime you start it up.

    Its a PITA but I suppose its just another thing we have to live with.

  3. #3
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mask View Post
    Hi!

    Recently, I was trying to change my destination address on my DVD90 Navi while I was driving.
    I saw that the address details were not accessible/changeable at driving time. Only after stopping the car completely it became possible to enter a new destination address.
    Although I know it's not safe to change navigation parameters when driving, I would like to be able to change them at any time.
    Does anyone have found a solution for this?

    Thanks and regards!!
    I know that they can be configurated like this because of safety reasons, but you are the first one I know
    the dealer can change this via Tech2: he can change the speed limit (in your case it will probably set to 5km/h) or disable it completely

    Is it possible that this is an obligation in the Netherlands?

  4. #4
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karl View Post
    only way round it, as far as I can remember, is to "slightly" put the handbrake on
    doesn't work with the CD70/DVD90 because it detects the real speed

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NL
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Glad to hear I'm the first one with this limitation :S
    It could very much be the 5 km/h limit, since it does work when driving very slowly.
    Not sure if this limitation is obliged by law in the Netherlands. Eitherway, it's still annoying
    I'll ask my dealer about the possibilities to remove this limitation, otherwise I'm afraid I have to live with it.

    Thanks!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    I can change the destination on my CD70 while driving along. Easily done via the steering wheel scroll button and you only have to give a quick cursory glance at the stereo display - no worse than looking at the radio station you're listening to, what temperature you've got the climate control set to, or simply looking at the time.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Dave View Post
    I can change the destination on my CD70 while driving along. Easily done via the steering wheel scroll button and you only have to give a quick cursory glance at the stereo display - no worse than looking at the radio station you're listening to, what temperature you've got the climate control set to, or simply looking at the time.
    All of which can distract you for a second - and we all know what can happen in a second...

    Everyone does it, I mean even talking to your passenger could in theory kill you because it takes your attention off the road for just that split second..

    And this isn't me on my soapbox, as I'm just as bad for fiddling with things while on the move, but at the end of the day it's perfectly true that all it takes is one second's distraction...

    Maybe it would be handy to have that feature disabled when it detects a person in the passenger seat so they could do it for you - are you listening Vauxhall...?

  8. #8
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The display should be by the clocks IMO. As for the door opening warning, put it in with the main display.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. dvd90 navi bt and aux
    By Ahermann in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th September 2012, 21:13
  2. BT communication with NAVI DVD90
    By msqualo in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd November 2011, 18:33
  3. DVD90 Navi with CID
    By VectraBandit in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th October 2009, 20:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •