User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Park pilot button

  1. #1
    Ex-Staff Full Member Ian T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Skynet HQ EMEC#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Park pilot button

    A question for the technical / electrical experts.
    I currently have a rear parking sensor system powered from a plug into the rear accessory socket. What I am now wondering if it is possible to buy the park pilot button for below hazard switch, then take the output from the switch and hard wire that instead of plug?

    Is this a possible mod or does it involve major Tech 2 work????

    Any help appreciated

  2. #2
    Regular Member Doug-SRidirect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian T
    A question for the technical / electrical experts.
    Well I'm neither.....but am wondering why you've not wired these up to the reversing light circuit (via the wiring in the side panel behind the light cluster)?
    Hence they'd be activated only when you slot into reverse!
    Doug

  3. #3
    Ex-Staff Full Member Ian T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Skynet HQ EMEC#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well Doug, When I got The system, it comes with the power plug on the cable. This has a switch on the side of it. Did not really think about the reverse lights, but would not have wanted to attack wiring really.
    The other reason for the park pilot switch, is in case I get a set for the front so I don't damage front spoiler. both sets could be turned on together.
    Would wiring to reverse lights not affect bulb check control,etc?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Robbieben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Polishing a car somewhere
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There is a spare pickup for reverse lights in the rear side panel for accessory use, needs to be below 5amp draw I believe, should power reverse sensors no problem.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Doug-SRidirect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I thought it would too, but a number on this site say they've had no problem. I think you can just scotchlock the reverse unit's feed cable into one of the reversing light cables immediately by the rear light cluster.
    An alternative I've not looked into yet, is to find the wiring socket for the fitting of a towbar. One of the terminal in this socket should power-up a trailer reversing light, so you'd think that might be a viable sourse of power for this unit.
    I'm waiting for everyone else to sort out all the problems....before I get around to installing mine!!!!! LOL
    Doug

    Doh, Robbie just beat me to the post!!!

  6. #6
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian T
    I currently have a rear parking sensor system powered from a plug into the rear accessory socket. What I am now wondering if it is possible to buy the park pilot button for below hazard switch, then take the output from the switch and hard wire that instead of plug?

    Is this a possible mod or does it involve major Tech 2 work????
    The ParkPilot switch goes into Canbus (via the ParkPilot module) so I don't think you're going to be able to use the switch for any aftermarket kits.

    D

  7. #7
    Ex-Staff Full Member Ian T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Skynet HQ EMEC#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ok guys, thanks for your help, I may try & hard wire to rear

  8. #8
    Regular Member Doug-SRidirect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sorry Duncan, I don't quite understand! Can't I scotchlock a feed from one of the reversing lights? - or even the towbar electrics socket?
    Doug

    Doubly sorry now D, I've just reread the entire thread and now realise you're talking about the dash switch and proper built-in system!
    Last edited by Doug-SRidirect; 25th February 2006 at 21:58.

  9. #9
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'd be interested to hear results from other people who've retro fitted a rear parking sensor kit and wired it into the revesring light circuit. I assume that when you use the 'get you home' feature (front lights and rear reversing lights on for 30 secs) it activates your sensors? Can people who have wired in a kit test this and let me know.

    I'm asking as my aftermarket Vx kit doesn't activate when I do the 'get you home' thing - so I'm guessing it's not wired into the reversing lights (but it does activate when reverse is selected). If I'm in the mood tomorrow, I'll remove the loadspace interior panel that the box is behind and see where it's wired into - may help you guys?

    D

  10. #10
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Doug-SRidirect
    Doubly sorry now D, I've just reread the entire thread and now realise you're talking about the dash switch and proper built-in system!
    lol - no worries Doug. I've added a quote to my earlier post as it probably wasn't totally clear who's post I was replying to!

    D

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Park pilot alert but I don't have Park Pilot
    By krisby in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st November 2011, 10:58

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vauxhall parking pilot button www.vectra-c.com

vectra parking button

vauxhall parking pilot button

parking pilot button

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •