User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Computer showing crazy MPG after remap!!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Computer showing crazy MPG after remap!!

    New to the forum but it seems like the best place to get some advice.

    I've just had my Vectra CDTI SRI 150 (2004) remapped, the car goes like stink now and I'm certainly satisfied but I do have a problem. The onboard computer used to show that I was averaging about 43mpg which I've checked myself (full tank to full tank ect) and found it to be pretty accurete, however following the remap it's telling me I'm getting about 65mpg, I might have believed this if I were lucky enough to be 16 years old again but I'm just not having it at all.

    Been in touch with the remap people and they say it will sort it'self out after about 300 miles. Someone else suggested taking the battery off for a couple of hours to see if this cured it but it hasn't.

    My partner's also got remapped at the same time, Astra (same spec) and she's even luckier than me, her's is averaging 78mpg!!!!

    Has anyone heard of this before or know anthing about it.

    Also if I declare the remap to insurance can anyone tell me what it is likely to cost extra, I've currently got a quote for about £280

    Thanks in advance for any info.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hmm.. i'd be concerned that it's affected the BC computer...

    remapping is a black art at best...i hope it was a well known mapper...they will usually stand by their 'products' and recode any issues..

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have they 'remapped' it or just stuck a tuning box on it? - the latter does have that effect on the trip computer

  4. #4
    Regular Member Lightboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'd declare it m8, not worth hiding... Insurance companies have ways...

    Try Adrian Flux and Direct Line... I was 32 and my Astra GSi parked in a driveway at my house in Reading with a remap to 235bhp cost an extra £120..

    For a tenner a month, it's worth the peace of mind apart from anything else!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian S100 View Post
    Have they 'remapped' it or just stuck a tuning box on it? - the latter does have that effect on the trip computer
    It was definitely a remap and the company certainly look reputable, all the work was done from inside the car, never lifted the bonnet. If the computer doesn't settle down he has agreed to put the cars back to standard and a full refund, he states he's never had an unhappy customer in 5 years and he doesn't intend to have one now.

    I just hope that if it comes to putting them back to standard that the computers start working correctly again.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Maida Vale
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Probably best to be honest with the insurance company, but if you didn't fess up there's no way they'd ever find a remap, as long as you haven't left hints lying around such as stickers etc.

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas1 View Post
    Probably best to be honest with the insurance company, but if you didn't fess up there's no way they'd ever find a remap, as long as you haven't left hints lying around such as stickers etc.
    Insurance and warranty companies are getting wise to remaps and will now go to great lengths to find out if yours has been fiddled with or not.

    They've even been known to turn up to RR meetings and they certainly keep an eye out on internet forums and modding magazines for clues (number plates etc).

  8. #8
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian S100 View Post
    Have they 'remapped' it or just stuck a tuning box on it? - the latter does have that effect on the trip computer
    Maybe all they did was to increase the fuelling on the map in much the same way that a tuning box does? If so,then it's a bit of a rip-off!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Voltage Showing On the BD
    By Si-SRI in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th November 2010, 18:58
  2. Crazy people, crazy drivers.
    By Grumpy1954 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th October 2010, 19:42
  3. Computer display showing strange temperatures
    By Nato in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th April 2010, 16:59
  4. anyone added trip computer/board computer?
    By Craig1985 in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 02:33
  5. Replies: 81
    Last Post: 21st June 2008, 17:19

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •