User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Car Kit

  1. #1
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Car Kit

    hey all not been on a while i am wanting to get a car kit for my phone and just wondered if anyone has done much research in this. i have the cd 30 so because of the stupind connecters i dont know if u can get one to go through stereo, i have a samsung d500 by the way so i imagine it will be a bluetooth kit id want


    cheers scott

  2. #2
    Regular Member Damian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I had a Nokia CK-1W (I think) bluetooth car kit in my car with the CD30. Guy that installed it had it running through my CD30 stereo as there should be a handsfree connector behind the glovebox to the right that he tapped into/used

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks damian i`ll have to look behind the glove box, has anyone else tried this what wires etc do i use, i have been told that the ones i should look at are the parrot/nokia or sony ericson kit

  4. #4
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i looked behind the glove box today and couldn`t see any connection is this something that is installed into all vectras or ones just with the factory telephone option

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    North Bucks
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi,

    "Behind the glovebox" is perhaps a bit of a misnomer. What you're looking for is the 18 way VDA socket. If it's fitted it'll be taped up in the loom on the right when you take out the glovebox, high up just behind the display screen.

    If the VDA socket is there, it's plain sailing. You just need the relevant Autoleads cable to go from the VDA socket to your car kit. Install the kit, the phone holder and the mic and away you go. The connector supplies switch and permanent power, radio mute and speaker connections.

    I was lucky, the VDA was fitted to my car (2005 Elite with CDC40 system) so it was easy. The sound comes out of the front speakers and is adjustable with the steering wheel volume control. The screen displays "External In" while the phone is in use.

    Received wisdom is that if the CDC70 is fitted, the VDA sockets is always there, if it's CDC30 then normally not there unless specified as 'prewiring' when the car was ordered. CDC40.... well I found one.

    If the VDA socket isn't there you'll need a different Autoleads cable. As I understand it, remove the stereo and plug in the lead between the stereo and it's quadlock connector in the wiring loom.

    A great source of advice is www.siocommunications.co.uk. Have a look at the forums (old and new) because there is even a picture of the VDA connector so you'll know what you're looking for. Sio is run by a really helpful guy (Terry Wright) and his online shop sells the Autoleads & mounting brackets you'll need to do the job.
    No - before you ask I'm not on commission! Just a satisfied customer.

  6. #6
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Freefaller
    ....A great source of advice is www.siocommunications.co.uk. Have a look at the forums (old and new) because there is even a picture of the VDA connector so you'll know what you're looking for. Sio is run by a really helpful guy (Terry Wright) and his online shop sells the Autoleads & mounting brackets you'll need to do the job.
    No - before you ask I'm not on commission! Just a satisfied customer.
    I'll second that, the guy was great when I fitted my motorola bluetooth kit, and as stated above, if the VDA connector is there, it's like falling off a bike It's taped up with plain old masking tape if that helps you find it, top right hand corner.
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  7. #7
    Regular Member scott_150cdtisri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crewe
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks freefaller and gary that has been a big help. as soon as that sun rises tomorrow that glove box is coming out. again!! it said on that website in there experience all vectra and astra sri`s have that plug so fingers crossed! ive been looking at the parrot car kit the one with the colour screen, is this a good one? the wife has the older 3100 version and she says it is good to use and had no problem with it. cheers again
    scott

  8. #8
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scott_150cdtisri
    thanks freefaller and gary that has been a big help. as soon as that sun rises tomorrow that glove box is coming out. again!! it said on that website in there experience all vectra and astra sri`s have that plug so fingers crossed! ive been looking at the parrot car kit the one with the colour screen, is this a good one? the wife has the older 3100 version and she says it is good to use and had no problem with it. cheers again
    scott
    Couple of guys I know use the Parrot and they are very good from what I've seen, they can't fault them. I have a motorola kit (HFW8000), and it is a great bit of kit.
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  9. #9
    Regular Member bruceybonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Preston Area
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ive got a ck-7w bluetooth nokia setup in mine... used the vda connector and got the leads from siocommunications.... the guy that runs it is very helpful.. have look on the forum.. even without the vda connector it can be done quite easily

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Renfrew, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruceybonus
    ive got a ck-7w bluetooth nokia setup in mine... used the vda connector and got the leads from siocommunications.... the guy that runs it is very helpful.. have look on the forum.. even without the vda connector it can be done quite easily
    can vouch for sio communications - top bloke, helped me out a good few times with varios leads for handsfree kits...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •