User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Auto upshift on 3rd gear

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Formby
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Auto upshift on 3rd gear

    Got a2002, 3.2 elite auto, had the usual water in auto box problem, had it rebuilt, then had to replace lock up soloniod, now when it changes up to 3rd, manual or tiptronic, it changes, drops 300 rpm, then when it hits 1750rpm it drops another 300rpm, but is still in 3rd, it only happens in 3rd.

    Anybody had similar problems, and what was the cure, does it kneed a software update, its showing no fault codes.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    either a software update, or it could be a dodgy shift solenoid or at worst, a containated clutch band inside the box itself....

    it really needs to go to an autobox specialist..

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Formby
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Thanks GSi 3.2

    You could be confirming my worst suspicions, the auto box specialist who rebuilt the box after the water damage reckoned the bands etc, were fine and only the torque converter and filter were renewed. having read all the threads on this box i am begining to think he should have done a full rebuild, or as you say mabe another solonoid has gone duff due to water damge.

    Would Tech 2 show up anything more than my basic code reader, even if the box is showing no fault codes

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    tech2 'may' throw up some more codes.. most basic code readers won't even read the auto box.. so unless it's a VX specific system and quite an advanced one it won't actually read the gearboxs systems..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. auto gear box help anyone?
    By lukesignum in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th September 2010, 00:30
  2. Auto gear changes
    By Alansilverfox in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th June 2009, 19:56
  3. Auto gear box only 2nd & 5th pls help!!!
    By watkins1172 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th January 2009, 19:48
  4. New Auto Gear Box going a bit Crazy???
    By korlinski in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th June 2007, 22:05
  5. Help!!! Harsh 3rd gear upshift WORRIED!!!
    By joseantoniovalle in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30th October 2006, 17:13

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •