Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Default Help With Towing Predicament Please

Hi there Everyone. I'm a newbie although i'm telling porky pies in a way as i was on here approx 18 months ago and jumped ship, sorry but long story! Anyway my predicament. I've got a 2004 Veccy 2.2SRi petrol. Great car and in great condition. Been a great servant to me since i bought it nearly 2 years ago. My circumstances have changed now somewhat as me and the Mrs have took caravanning up again (caravans!!!...oh no...get him off here!...i can hear you all screaming). Hey, don't knock it till you've tried it! We bought a 1999 Elddis caravan and it's just over a ton in weight and its approx 22ft long. We went away in it last weekend (what a weekend!...remember all that rain?). The Vectra towed it ok BUT that's about it...just ok? It seemed i was forever changing gears and its now given me the opinion that yes it's ok for a general cruisin' car BUT not a good towing one. I've been told that what i could do with is a Turbo Diesel, a lot better car for towing. To be honest i've never owned a Diesel before let alone one with a turbo. Ok there's probably shed loads of cars out there that will fit my bill perfectly but in truth i do want to stick with a Vectra or maybe a Signum as i like the look of them too. I see the Vectras and Signums do a 3.0CDTi but having trawled through the internet they seem pretty hard to come by and when they do appear they are pretty expensive especially for the 'facelift' model. From there it seems the next one down is a 2.2DTi but they seem to appear on the older Veccy's only. Then i note it's the 1.9CDTi...how would this compare to my 2.2 SRi petrol pulling wise? In fact how would any of the above compare to what i've got now please? I really do need some good solid advice as to where i go from here. Like i said earlier my Veccy does do the job but it does honestly not seem to have t