User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Getting to the aerial cable

  1. #1
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Getting to the aerial cable

    I've been attempting to wire in an inline FM modulator to the Siggy, to interface my ipod, but I can't find a convenient point to break into the aerial cable.
    With the HU removed, and the glovebox out, I can just about get to the back of the HU mounting cage, and I can see where the aerial cable leaves the cage and vanishes into the harness, but I can't get access to break into the cable.
    Anyone know:
    a. how to get the cage out or
    b. where I can find a big enough loop in the aerial cable.

    Thanks, Phil

  2. #2
    Regular Member leeds vectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : VX-Line

    Engine : BiTurbo

    Year : 2014

    Default

    Phil,

    Long shot this one, my Astra G coax ran from the dash down the centre of the car underneath the handbrake. Not sure if it's the same on the Vectra/Signum. You could maybe remove some trim around the handbrake/gearstick area and see if it runs down there. On the astra's there was a joint under the handbrake in the voax, so if it does run down there you could tap in to it.

    It is very tight in the dash and i doubt you could tap in there, the coax then runs in to a wiring loom with no play at all. Also once you remove the aerial pug from the black cage it is very flimsy and is easily broke. I have never got mine back to 100% since it fell apart on me when doing my dvd install.

    Paul.

  3. #3
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks, Paul,
    More dismantling required, then. Too flippin' cold at the moment, so I may wait until spring to try again!

    Phil

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I would suggest removing the plug from the cage and fitting an extension cable to your modulator, then another cable back to the cage rather than attempting to splice into the cable.

    Simon

  5. #5
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by svpworld
    I would suggest removing the plug from the cage and fitting an extension cable to your modulator, then another cable back to the cage rather than attempting to splice into the cable.

    Simon
    Yep, what he said, if the aerial cable is anything like the one on the Vec B, then be aware the internal inner core is VERY, VERY, thin, almost like a hair, once broken/cut can be almost impossible to re-attach.

  6. #6
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Is the plug removeable from the cage? It didn't appear to be.......

    Phil

  7. #7
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yep, sure is, cant remember how now though, it was too long ago, but cant have been hard to get off, I don't remember it being a problem.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes on the vectra c 53 I have you just squeeze the edges of the socket face (inside the cage) and push it out. You first need to prise the cable clips open though to free the lead. It's a 90 degree ISO type connector.

    Simon

  9. #9
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    OK, I'll have to have another look, and attach my 9" thumbs (There are times when big hands are useful. Behind a dashboard ISN'T one of them!).
    Might have to wait 'til the weather gets warmer, though.......

    Thanks, chaps.

    Phil

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    N/A
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    On the Vectra Estate I fitted my RF modulator at the back end of the car. The drivers side D pillar inner panel comes off quite easily and there is a panel across the back of the roof just forward of the tailgate. Remove these and you can get to the underside of the antenna itself. I cut and joined into the coax in the area of the roof around top of the driver's side D-pillar (FME connectors work well with the coax and use a male/female pair so you can rejoin the original coax if required. ALWAYS USE THE RIGHT CRIMP TOOLS). I fed the new wiring down the inside of the D-pillar and put the RF modulator in the boot pocket on the driver's side. The Signum is different, but similar. Warning: if you have satnav and GSM phone then there will be three coaxs. There is a plug under the antenna and each coax has its own connector so you can disconnect each coax in turn and find the radio one.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: RGB Cable
    By Neve'o in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th February 2013, 12:53
  2. XBox 360 VGA cable and Advanced SCART cable FS
    By RSV_Ecosse in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd February 2007, 00:01

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •