User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Cim ??

  1. #1
    Regular Member steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Cim ??

    following my original post here

    http://forum.vectra-c.com/showthread.php?t=54530

    been into vx to have the power steering light reset and the have phoned saying the CIM module needs re calibrated and should be done whenever steering is touched. i.e new pump fitted. Is this correct.. £68 to have it done.

    Any help would be appreciated
    Thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    Regular Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Re-calibrated? never heard that before???

  3. #3
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you have to set the steering angle sensor..

    can't see it needed being done when the pump is replaced.. it's normally programmed when the CIM is reeplaced as part of the CIM setup procedure, so the angle sensor in the CIM knows when the wheels are pointing straight ahead..

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    also, following on from your earlier post.. it looks like as they were using a laptop it's VAUXCOM they used not TECH2.. TECH2 is on it's own 'pendant' not a laptop..

    Only the very latest releases of vauxcom can program the CIM.. is it a VX dealer it's at?...

  5. #5
    Regular Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So unless they have had the CIM off it shouldn't need doing?

  6. #6
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i'd be surprised that a pump change means it needs reprogramming.. i'm certain that Glynn has never had to have his CIM reprogrammed when he's swapped pumps ( ans he's done a few)..

    if it's not a VX dealer i think i know whats going on....

    i wonder if they have tried to diagnose it with VAUXCOM.. got it wrong..swapped the pump over.. still got a light on but now can't find the fault.. so are trying to get a dealer TECH2 check paid for by the client....

  7. #7
    Regular Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah, the £68 is close to a quick tech 2 session......

  8. #8
    Regular Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Never had to program the Cim when changed pumps a few times on my old saloon when is was first being put together. Think it maybe that the old pump had the oil level indicator and the new ones (replacements) no longer have them. This has to be tech2'd out otherwise the light will show for low fluid. Easy job to do so do not know what VX are on about having to reprogram the cim

  9. #9
    Regular Member steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsi3.2 View Post
    i'd be surprised that a pump change means it needs reprogramming.. i'm certain that Glynn has never had to have his CIM reprogrammed when he's swapped pumps ( ans he's done a few)..

    if it's not a VX dealer i think i know whats going on....

    i wonder if they have tried to diagnose it with VAUXCOM.. got it wrong..swapped the pump over.. still got a light on but now can't find the fault.. so are trying to get a dealer TECH2 check paid for by the client....
    sounds right ... no it wasnt a vx dealer and they said tehy couldnt find a fault but couldnt put the light out... now its at vx and they said the angle sensor needs re calibrated.. and its 1 hrs labour on tech 2... so what exactly have the non vx garage done..?? thanks again

  10. #10
    Regular Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'd say nothing, they want to charge you for a tech 2 session at a vx dealer to reset the light.

    edit:just read your other post. Not sure what they have done apart from change the pump

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •