User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Any telecoms engineers around - HELP!!!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Inverurie
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Any telecoms engineers around - HELP!!!

    Hope someone can get me out of the dog house please. I took it upon myself to go and move the wireless router from under our bed (the only socket with a power supply near by) to the other socket which didn't work. Anyway it now works, but we have really bad static on the phone now.
    In me moving the socket, I disconnected the master socket from the cable coming into the house and made a note of what went where. However when coming back to connect back up, the piece of paper I wrote it all down on was missing
    So I connected it back up as what I thought, but ever since we just have really bad static on the phone. It is really wierd though cause when I unplug it from the socket, it is ok, but if I switch the phone off then on again the static appears and doesn't disappear until I unplug it again.
    The master socket has three terminals on it, marked A, B and E. At the minute, A is connected to an orange wire and B is connected to white with E not connected. There are only four wires coming in.
    Can anyone offer any advice. I am well in the dog house at the minute as the good lady of my life can't speak on the phone as it is that bad.

    Cheers,
    Andy

  2. #2
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I was told by an engineer that all the sockets in the house have to be wired the same way round - you could try swopping those two wires over.

  3. #3
    Regular Member jonesy_ni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Co Antrim
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You got the microfilters connected?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lincs
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Hatch

    Trim : Exclusive Plus Pack

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi Z19DTH

    Year : 57

    Mileage : 100k+

    Default

    THIS any good as a starting point?

  5. #5
    Regular Member TomiboyC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    East Ayrshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you have got dial tone then you at least have the right pair of wires, as above make sure you have filters connected for the phone as well as for the router, also try putting the white in to A and orange into B as white is is the primary colour when doing telephony. I would imagine E is only for when you are connecting extensions.

  6. #6
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    I've always been told that the connections on BT sockets are 2 5 & 3

    White/Orange 4 - 3 Orange/White
    White/Blue 5 - 2 Blue/White
    White/Green 6 - 1 Green/White



    More info Here wiring extensions etc..
    Last edited by Big-Pete; 22nd August 2008 at 19:32.

  7. #7
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    3 is the ring-wire I believe which is not really required anymore (and disconnecting it can help boost the sync of broadband routers as it will reduce crosstalk).

  8. #8
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JuzzyD View Post
    3 is the ring-wire I believe which is not really required anymore (and disconnecting it can help boost the sync of broadband routers as it will reduce crosstalk).

    Didnt know that JuzzyD, im going to try it at the weekend..

  9. #9
    Regular Member PeterVV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    south wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JuzzyD View Post
    3 is the ring-wire I believe which is not really required anymore (and disconnecting it can help boost the sync of broadband routers as it will reduce crosstalk).
    He`s right you know, it is what we in BT call the bell wire. Dont forget if you want to prove any faults, always start with the master socket, take the cover off, and plug a phone that you know works in , then work your way around the extns, one at a time in the order they are from the master.
    Your broadband should always be off the master to avoid problems and increase speed.If you have to run a extn off the master for BB always keep it as short as possible.

  10. #10
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterVV View Post
    He`s right you know, it is what we in BT call the bell wire. Dont forget if you want to prove any faults, always start with the master socket, take the cover off, and plug a phone that you know works in , then work your way around the extns, one at a time in the order they are from the master.
    Your broadband should always be off the master to avoid problems and increase speed.If you have to run a extn off the master for BB always keep it as short as possible.
    Ah, a BT engineer then? Quick question (and slightly off topic) - what the position regarding master sockets? Our incoming cable goes to a junction box and then travels off around the house to the various sockets.

    I'd like to replace the junction box with two master sockets (one for the house line, the other for my business line) and then rewire the house to remove the poor wiring we have.

    Will BT fit the master sockets for free as the cabling is so old? Or can I legally fit them myself?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Any boiler engineers on here?
    By lee gsi in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd February 2013, 20:48
  2. How Engineers Think
    By boba in forum Comedy & Humour
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd November 2008, 20:08
  3. V6 engineers
    By SteveH in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th March 2008, 08:54
  4. Any engineers out there?
    By blr123 in forum Detailing and Car Care Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd February 2006, 21:34

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •