User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Disk Boot Failure....?

  1. #1
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Disk Boot Failure....?

    Well I'm back with more PC related problems....!

    Just bought, basically new everything for the inside of the computer... and now trying to put it all together.

    I've turned it on and it came up with the message....

    disk boot failure insert system disk and press enter.

    Well, I've put in the Windows XP DVD, I've tried the Motherboard CD...

    It still comes up with the same message. I cant seem to see an option to get into BIOS either.

    All the cables and leads look in the right places, firmly connected etc...

    Any ideas??

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Winteringham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    pres ctrl alt delete then keep pressing the delete key that shoud get you in to the bios

  3. #3
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hold down F12 at boot page, then select boot from CD and have the XP disc in at the same time.

  4. #4
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As said above, you probably need to bring the CD drive up the boot order - have you installed a brand new therefore empty harddrive?

    Also, if installing XP you may need the SATA drivers floppy disk if the harddrive is a) a SATA drive and b) your BIOS doesn't do IDE emulation for the SATA bus.

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah right, a new install, as Juz said if it's a Sata HD you will need a floppy with the sata driver on it, you need to press F6 when asked by XP, failing that hook the drive up to a working machine and format it within windows, when you go to boot next time it should recognise the drive, and one last thing just in case, hold the delete key down when booting to enter bios and check that sata support is enabled in the bios.

  6. #6
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No its an IDE drive... I know the HDD works as I plugged it into a different computer... BUT when I plug it into the new motherboard, DVD Rom etc... It just goes no further than Boot Disk Failure....

    I can get into BIOS etc, I've loaded failsafe defaults etc, It can see the CD RW, It can see the DVD RW it can see the HDD, but it just doesnt go any further than the ...

    Verifying DMI Pool Data...

    Boot Disk Failure.. etc

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North west
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Check the jumper settings on your dvd / cd drives. If you have one of each the DVD must be set as the master and cd as slave to install an operating system. Try F2 or F5 to get into bios, you might also need to auto detect hard drives in bios. Is the hard drive jumper set to master, when tried on another system it can be slave (master if in an external usb case)

    Hope that helps.

  8. #8
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I really dont get this, its like its not seeing the Windows disk in the drive...

    On the IDE cable from the motherboard, I have the ROM drive plugged in as master and the HDD as the slave...

    I go thru BIOS etc and it sees both the HDD and ROM drive... I've tried changing the boot priorities from HDD to ROM drive, loaded BIOS fail-safes...

    I'm at the very short length of my computer knowledge... I have not altered or changed any of the "jumpers" on the motherboard.

    Now it seems to be stuck on Verifying DMI Pool Data

  9. #9
    Regular Member MalcGSI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    E Sussex & Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    check that the disk is connected to the primary IDE controller, some motherboards have 2.

  10. #10
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No this motherboard only has the one IDE controller. (It has 4 SATA contections - None in use) I've checked the Jumpers on the HDD and DVD ROM they are set that the DVD is the Master, the HDD is the slave, they are plugged in the right IDE cable slots, It now says boot from CD and just stays there! LMAO! This is winding me right up! I wont be able to sleep until I fix it LOL

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Are boot gas struts an mot failure
    By noel.nev in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 9th February 2011, 13:45
  2. Boot lock failure
    By Justelis in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th September 2010, 15:55
  3. 2008/2009 Sat Nav Disk worse than old disk
    By deanos in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th November 2008, 12:53
  4. Boot lock failure
    By glenboy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th April 2008, 21:55
  5. Computer Hard Disk failure - Off Topic
    By bandrew in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th November 2007, 17:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •