User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Ignition switch wiring please!

  1. #1
    Regular Member blue estate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    oh well.. I tried..
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Ignition switch wiring please!

    Does anybody know the colours on the ignition switch?

    I need to know...

    The first position, known as ACC also, colour wire for live

    Then second position, the colour wire out of the two that stays live after car has started

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you're looking at the ignition switch itself, there isn't a conventional live feed you can pick up as such. The switch is part of the CIM (column module).
    The CIM runs on only around half a dozen very thin wires for EVERY function on the steering wheel and column. And I'm fairly certain (IIRC) there isn't even 12v in there, it’s running on 5v.
    If you need a 12v ignition switched live for something, there are better places to get one.
    What are you trying to do m8 ?

  3. #3
    Regular Member blue estate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    oh well.. I tried..
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    FFS! lol.. This car is a pain in the arse .. why cant it be wired like my MK2 Astra, that was easy! lol

    Im trying to wire up a boost guage bud...

    The loom on the guage and where it needs to go are as follows;

    1. Red > Battery +
    2. Black > Earth -
    3. Brown > Illumination... i.e. sidelights
    4. Yellow > ACC - first ignition position
    5. Orange > To an ignition live position 2 that stays live once car has started

    So basically i can run 1 & 2 straight to the battery, 3 im sure can be tapped into the sidelight live, its gonna be 4 & 5 that are a mare

  4. #4
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blue estate View Post
    FFS! lol.. This car is a pain in the arse .. why cant it be wired like my MK2 Astra, that was easy! lol

    Im trying to wire up a boost guage bud...

    The loom on the guage and where it needs to go are as follows;

    1. Red > Battery +
    2. Black > Earth -
    3. Brown > Illumination... i.e. sidelights
    4. Yellow > ACC - first ignition position
    5. Orange > To an ignition live position 2 that stays live once car has started

    So basically i can run 1 & 2 straight to the battery, 3 im sure can be tapped into the sidelight live, its gonna be 4 & 5 that are a mare
    if you tap into the side light live you may upset the system all the feeds you need will be behind the glove box to the left but if you choose the wrong wire you maybe giveing your self a head ache my advice is dont bother fitting it the chance of a problem if you dont know what you looking at are very very high indeed you could always contact a good auto sparky ...

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Might be a better bet for the Illumination to tap into the radio Illumination, wont interfer with the check bulb system then.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blue estate View Post
    FFS! lol.. This car is a pain in the arse .. why cant it be wired like my MK2 Astra, that was easy! Lol
    Lol, if only, wiring anything on these is a PITA !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by blue estate View Post
    Im trying to wire up a boost guage bud...

    The loom on the guage and where it needs to go are as follows;

    1. Red > Battery +
    2. Black > Earth -
    3. Brown > Illumination... i.e. sidelights
    4. Yellow > ACC - first ignition position
    5. Orange > To an ignition live position 2 that stays live once car has started

    So basically i can run 1 & 2 straight to the battery, 3 im sure can be tapped into the sidelight live, its gonna be 4 & 5 that are a mare
    Right, yep 1+2 straight from the battery. (don’t forget a fuse)
    3 is probably easier and certainly safer from an existing dash switch or the cigarette lighter, anything inside the car that is illuminated, whatever you decide you can get too easiest. The extra current drain shouldn’t be an issue, but if you are concerned about it, use a relay. Don’t use the sidelights, it’s not worth the risk of upsetting the bulb failure warning system which you probably will, lol.
    4+5, your best bet is to remove the glove box, and have a look at the back of the fuse box inside the car, use a multi metre (NOT a test light) and you will probably find what you are looking for. Sorry, I don’t have any wire colours for you, but I have myself taken a ignition switched 12v feed from here.
    Don’t really understand the need to have both an acc and ignition feed in just a boost gauge, unless it is going to stop some special function, I'd be tempted to connect both to the ignition feed.

  7. #7
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Green Growler View Post
    Don’t really understand the need to have both an acc and ignition feed in just a boost gauge, unless it is going to stop some special function, I'd be tempted to connect both to the ignition feed.
    It sounds like it's an AutoGauge boost gauge? - same as mine. The gauge has the option of having an alarm on it or not, which can be turned on or off. To retain the setting that you make, it needs the permanent live. The acc is then the power it gets when you turn on the ignition.

    I wired mine into the +12v cables on the back of the light switch where there was both an ignition and permanent live, with it being half-Can - but on a facelift as we know it's full Can and the highest voltage you now get from those cables is +5V.

    Have a look at Spoons' thread on him fitting his boost gauge - it may help. He has the same gauge as me, and I'm guessing you?, and with his being full CAN he had to be a bit more inventive with the wiring.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Right, I can understand the idea of a permanent and a switched live.
    My gauge is also a AutoGauge gauge. (christ that’s a lot of gauges, lol.)
    The battery live is permanent, wire 1 in this case.
    But why the need for two switched lives ?
    Wires 4+5 are both switched, which is what I don’t get, unless that is just the alarm thingy you mention.
    There is no alarm on mine, but my gauge is digital, and it only has four wires, perm live, swt live, earth, and the feed from the remote sensor.

  9. #9
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah, now I remember.

    You can wire that gauge in such a way that with the lights off the dial is white, and when turned on it's red - or vice versa if you prefer, so you wire one of the cables into a feed that is only live when the lights turn on.

    I didn't want that, I simply wanted it white all the time so I wired it with, I think, just one wire to give white only. I'm not at home so I don't have the instructions for the gauge to hand to be able to give precisely what you need to wire and where for the different options.

  10. #10
    Regular Member blue estate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    oh well.. I tried..
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    http://www.autodials.co.uk/

    The SM68 range of boost guage

    I think the 2 switched lives are for calibration on the first turn of ignition then the second turn is to power it on

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. t/c switch wiring
    By mrk in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 9th November 2013, 12:16
  2. Clutch Switch wiring?
    By Thom in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th December 2010, 13:45
  3. Wiring up the TC switch
    By parsco in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th March 2010, 20:07
  4. Ignition Switch replacement
    By magpie27 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 16th April 2009, 17:13
  5. Ignition Switch Wire
    By spennny in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th October 2008, 17:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

12v ignition feed in 2005 vectra c

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •