Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

Trim : Black

Engine : 3.0D V6

Year : 0000

Default LPG conversion

What are people experiences with conversion kits??

As I do a fair amount of miles, I have been considering doing a conversion on (potentially) a new car - possibly a Saab 9-3 Conv. turbo charged petrol.

At the end of the day it's about saving money, and with the cost of petrol compared to the cost of LPG, for me it's almost a no brainer. As the cost of LPG is about half that of petrol, it should pay me back within 8 months, even though you get 20% less MPG.

As a competent Engineer, I have even thought about doing the conversion myself to further reduce costs and shorten pay back time.

Even if diesels are 20% better on fuel economy, the fuel is about 10% more expensive, so the PPM isn't that favourable for the extra initial cost outlay. Payback would be a long time longer.

Thoughts ? ?

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

So long as you are keeping the vehicle for at least three years, then investing £2000, or £3000 if its a factory fit, for a LPG conversion makes financial sense
    Providing the duty on LPG remains at the same rate until 2010 then you'll be in the money

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

You can get conversion kits for a lot less than the prices above. Had a quick look and I'll be in pocket after 8 months. So if I kept the car for 3 years (which is probably about right me, due to mileage accumulation) then I'll be saving a packet.