User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 3rd Party Radio Causing Dash Fault?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Salisbury
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 3rd Party Radio Causing Dash Fault?

    Hi Chaps,

    I have recently experienced the dash having a "Heart Attack".. Dials go go wild then die, lights coming up on the dash etc. Was on my way to the VX dealer to have it looked at, and the car died on me. Electrics would work, but no ignition. After 20 mins or so it reset and i was able to start the car and get to the dealer.

    I have just picked it up, and they reported that their Tech2 had picked up "strange" codes which the associated with the 3rd Party radio which i had fitted back in Dec last year. They said that this would cause the symptoms of what i was getting on the dash etc.

    I read through various posts and prior to picking up the car came to the conclusion that it was either the CIM of the ABS sensor being dirty. When i approaced the workshop manager on what i had read, he said, it was unlikely to the cause, and it was pretty much down to the 3rd party radio i have fitted. They said if it happens again to refit the original CD30 (which i still have) and see if the fault re-occurs.

    The radio was professionallly fitted and intergrated into the CANBUS so the steering wheel functions would work etc. I could see reason this being the problem if it was a few days/weeks down the line, but 7 months and the developing the problem seems a little strange?

    I have to say, they were pretty swift in looking at it for me, so that put me in a good mind set when i picked it up.

    Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
    What is your thoughts on this?

    Rgds
    Aidi

  2. #2
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I had the same symptoms that you describe mate and I haven't change the original CDR...never heard about a radio causing those issues and TBH I doubt that is the cause...but hey you never know Vectras work in mysterious ways

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Salisbury
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I am doubting that it is the root of the cause. Did you sort yours out via the ABS/CIM route?

    Rgds
    Aidi

  4. #4
    Regular Member fenderguitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Portadown Co. Armagh N. Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My Sons astra (06)has the exact same fault.cd30 fine,change to an aftermarket radio and it goes haywire.Some days its fine .other days will not start, all lights light on dash ,turn key nothing.Close the car let it sit and 8/10 time its alright again

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Salisbury
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The service manager was on about the canbus trying to get info from the headunit, and not being able to recongize it, it throws a wobbler.

    The strange thing in my case is that i have had installed for 7 months now, and its only just started??!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by akulla View Post
    I am doubting that it is the root of the cause. Did you sort yours out via the ABS/CIM route?

    Rgds
    Aidi
    Yeah disconnecting and convecting the ABS plug did the trick for me....Its been fine since then...every 6 or 8 months the glitch happens again...I just turn off and on the car and problem solved.....Its been a while since the last dial failure now.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Salisbury
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well, I hope i am not speaking too soon, but i went out to the car, and guess what... yep, "Heart Attack" I was not amused. Stopped and strated a few times and it kept coming back. Taking advice i read on the forum, i popped the bonnet, located the ABS plug, gave it a good blow out and wiped the connections down and started it back up... No problems! Drove it around.. no problems. A few more stops and starts... No problems. Fingers crossed i wont see the problem again.

    If it turns out to have rectifited the issue, i am going to be pretty disappointed with my local dealer. If someone with no knowledge of cars can do a little research and figure it out, then it leaves alot to be desired.

    Ill let you all know how things develop. Hopefully this will help someone else in the future.

    Rgds
    Aidi

  8. #8
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Glad is sorted now mate....and hope it stays that way

  9. #9
    Regular Member Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sunderland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Test it then go back to the dealer and advise them that YOU have located the fault, and tell them how to fix it in the future, I have had similar shocking service before and they hated it when I proved them wrong....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Radio fault
    By jamiedvvt in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th February 2013, 16:43
  2. AM Radio Fault
    By exclusive07 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th July 2010, 12:56
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 3rd November 2009, 18:24
  4. Alternator causing DPF fault?
    By Andiman in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th October 2009, 18:34
  5. loss of speedo, radio, dash ,etc
    By mikekemp in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd October 2007, 06:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •