User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Valeo Automatic Lighting System

  1. #1
    Regular Member vectrabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Valeo Automatic Lighting System

    does any1 have or had any dealings with this product and is it worth while???


    http://www.lmfvauxhall.co.uk/store/p...at=1263&page=1

  2. #2
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Each to their own, but personally, Iím quite capable of turning my own lights on and off thank you very much, lol.
    Anyway, the main thing you would need to check is if it is compatible with canbus wired cars, which I hate to say, it probably isn't.

  3. #3
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm quite good at noticing when it gets dark...

    Quote Originally Posted by LMF
    Poor visibility is a real anger for motorists

  4. #4
    Administrator plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    398 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    getting me thinking cap on here... maybe an output from one of their relays can switch the BCM module?

    gonna dive into the wiring for it... Not easily possible, the light switch tells the BCM to tell the UEC to turn the lights on.
    Last edited by plasma; 28th June 2008 at 17:30.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yep, I tried to find other ways to turn the lights on when I was looking at fitting my HID's, and I couldn't find any. IE you wonít easily pick up a fuse or relay somewhere that you can tap into. (would probably help if you had wiring diagrams, which I donít)
    It may be possible, but not easy and you may well end up looking directly at modules like .

  6. #6
    Administrator plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    398 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Ok, relooked yet again.. There is one line of attack i can see having an effect... Finding the line on the REC which normally tells the BCM it has received a signal from the rain sensors day/night section... still trying to trace exactly which line it is atm... in order for this theory to work it would need an autolight switch plus tech2, to enable it... thus bumping up the cost quite a bit... so might as well go the proper route maybe of rain sensor and wiring loom?

    2nd option pin 5 from the headlamp switch tells the BCM to turn on the lights... now the question is does this go high, ie 12volts?
    pin 11 is headlamp switch low reference.. maybe 0 volts?

    Looks like when the headlight is switched to dipped headlights it pulls pin5 down to low reference pin11. This could therefore be the point where the external relay could do this.

    SHOP is now shut for the night cause me heads hurting thinking about all this!
    Last edited by plasma; 28th June 2008 at 19:18.

  7. #7
    Regular Member vectrabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    obviously not as easy as i thought it would be, sum things are to good to be true.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Dean, when I was poking around in the headlight switch before, I am certain it doesn't have anywhere near 12v as it doesn't actually switch any load, as you know, I am 99% sure it runs at 5v.

  9. #9
    Administrator plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    398 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    thus the ? mark against 12volts lol.. All i can figure out is that the line gets pulled low to activate dipped headlights.. voltage doesnt really matter to an extent. Its also got a resistor across it down to ground too, which is where i think it detects if the headlight switch is remove it losses this resistance and switches the lights on as a saftey measure. 5v could be right if its being run by cmos ic's in the BCM

  10. #10
    Regular Member L33AVN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    West Lothian, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default harsh

    Quote Originally Posted by parapaul View Post
    I'm quite good at noticing when it gets dark...




    that was a bit harsh dont you think?!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Valeo Automatic Lighting System
    By Welsh_J_2000 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th January 2012, 07:50
  2. automatic lighting?
    By arkhan78 in forum Styling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th July 2009, 19:41
  3. valeo auto lighting
    By solorider in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th February 2009, 18:09
  4. disable automatic lighting
    By urbanb in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th December 2007, 00:39
  5. Automatic lighting
    By Leslie in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11th February 2007, 10:44

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •