User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Household Electrics- Kitchen

  1. #1
    Regular Member MuteJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    514747N, 04838W
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Household Electrics- Kitchen

    Hi all,

    I've just fitted a new kitchen, but I can't get my extractor fan to work.

    The old one was wired into the wall above the cupboards, with a switch for that socket at worktop height and all worked fine.

    The new one just won't work from this socket. If I use an extension lead and plug it into any other socket it works

    Any ideas?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member glenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sunny Dartmoor
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Is the plug where you turn it on fused??? Could've blown.......

  3. #3
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    They could have chopped/dilled a hole in the cable between the socket and the fan. when hanging upper cupbpards.

  4. #4
    Regular Member MuteJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    514747N, 04838W
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    There's power to the socket, but it doesnt seem to get any further. The fan has a 5amp fuse in the plug, the socket has a 13amp fuse.
    The socket that I used with the extension lead that I got the fan to work on also has a 13amp fuse in it.

    (The cable I drilled through was over by the boiler )

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Nr Cardiff
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You're supposed to have a spark do any wiring in your house and get an NIC to confirm it's been done correctly.
    If I were you (please don't take this the wrong way) and you can't figure a simple thing like this out, leave well alone and do the aforementioned.
    Either that or the socket has wires pulled out form it at the back, a breaker has tripped or you've damaged a wire. Can only be one of those things if you think about it.
    Fingers crossed, you'll be here tomorrow to let us know what it was.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Stu14t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Triple Trouble View Post
    You're supposed to have a spark do any wiring in your house and get an NIC to confirm it's been done correctly.
    That's not completely true. You are still allowed to work on existing circuits and change light fittings and sockets. However, you are not allowed to rewire or extend circuits unless you have the correct qualification.

    Mate of mine has been a sparks in a power station for 15 years, working with 400kv, but he's not allowed to fit a new plug in his own house. Jobs for the boys he thinks.

    Having said that, If you don't know what your doing, get a sparks in !

  7. #7
    Regular Member videodoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stu14t View Post
    Mate of mine has been a sparks in a power station for 15 years, working with 400kv, but he's not allowed to fit a new plug in his own house. Jobs for the boys he thinks.
    I am a fully qualified NIC electrician and some of the worst jobs we come across are done by electricians that work in big companies ie power stations,BNFL,British Aerospace etc.

    They have the knowledge to wire massive transformers and work on 400kv but they dont know the finer points of house wiring.
    I won't know where to start in large installations so why do these electricians think that they know how to wire a house.Leave each to his own area of special skill is what i say.

    Just out of interest there is a new regulation coming in July that states that if any wiring circuit is less than 30mm in the wall or not covered by earthed metal conduit has to be RCD protected.

    This means that in domestic houses because no wires ARE deeper than 30mm then an rcd must be fitted including to the lighting circuits.
    The manufacturers have produced a duel RCD board for this purpose.

    I for one think that this is a very good addition to the regs because the other day we came across 2 chrome switches that had lost their earths and the plates were alive.It just needed someone to come along and touch the plate while touching a radiator and they would have been killed.If they had had a Rcd on the lights then it would have tripped and hence saving their life.
    We sorted the switch out and found the fault and reinstated the earth so everything was safe again.

    We have to carry over 1500 of test equipment with us which i doubt the factory electricians have.

    Anyway to reitterate ,leave the job to someone who knows what their doing.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Stu14t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm just the messenger here but it's one of his moans down the pub.

    He originally qualified as a domestic sparks when he was a lad. He still needs to work to the current regs but just doesn't have that qualification.

    I must say though, I helped him out on a foreigner years ago, doing a re-wire (chasing out and fun things like that) and he's very neat and conscious of what the potential could be. He would mega his own work even though it wasn't required.

    I think when he says "jobs for the boys!" it's the people that qualify the sparks, they will never be out of a job.

  9. #9
    Regular Member MuteJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    514747N, 04838W
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers guys.
    Point taken about leaving it to the experts.
    I simply disconnected ther old extractor fan, and connected the new one.
    I was just wondering if anyone had any ideas as to why the new one might not work from this socket when it does work from another socket with what appears to be an identical set up. I just though it was a bit odd.
    As you say, the solution is probably a simple one, but best left to the experts unless you want to end up toast

  10. #10
    Regular Member videodoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MuteJoe View Post
    (The cable I drilled through was over by the boiler )
    Just a thought.....could the cable you drilled be feeding your fan supply?

    When you said the fan socket is still alive did you check using a multimeter?

    You might have a live feed but the neutral might be missing.
    Does the switch down below have a fuse holder in it?ie switched spur.
    If so have you checked the fuse in that?

    Using a multimeter you should get 240v across live and neutral.If not try across live and earth.If you get 240v across that then your neutral is missing.

    Your best get a qualified electrician in to check because using multimeters on live supplies can be hairy!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd July 2011, 11:43
  2. Another new car in the household...
    By soulman in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 24th April 2011, 21:27
  3. 2 vectra household
    By marichrd in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th February 2011, 12:59
  4. Household interior doors for sale
    By gibbon7000 in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th October 2009, 20:00
  5. Household chores
    By Gaz the Cab in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th February 2008, 00:04

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •