User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Vauxhall detecting a Remap/Chip

  1. #1
    Regular Member suj786's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Vauxhall detecting a Remap/Chip

    Just read on a thread somewhere ( cant find it now) that on cars dated pre sept 2003 vauxhall cannot detect a remap or chip on an ECU, is this true ?

    My main question is, I have had a new ECU fitted just a few months ago. Does this mean that vauxhall will be able to tell if I've had a remap ?
    Last edited by suj786; 2nd February 2006 at 13:48.

  2. #2
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    All remaps are detectable.

    If the car feels quicker they will plug in tech2, see the boost, fuel and ignition timing are pulling more fuel in, more boost and more timing and then refuse to do work.

    It takes them 2 mins to check.

    NO remap is undetectable.

  3. #3
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I remember the thread/post you refer to - it's here.

    As for Vx detecting a remap before or after those dates, I don't know.

    Any remap will be detectable, I think, if Vx decide to look deep enough. But in terms of your dealer detecting one by plugging in a Tech 2, the simple answer is no. They'd have to have a suspicion to start looking at all the individual variables.

    Even on a later model, if Vx were involved in a big warranty claim on the car - engine/turbo etc - and suspected there was a remap involved I reckon once they got it back to Vx they could find out that it had one - especially if it was still in it.

    As for ones like mine, where you can remap back to original, I dont know if they could detect that it had been remapped if it had been reverted back to original. I reckon they couldn't - or it would be a damn site harder as the values would be all as standard and the original software is back in so I can't see how.

    D

  4. #4
    Regular Member suj786's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    would they not have some kind of logging software on the ECU that would tell them that its been tampered with in some way.

    I'm not really bothered as my cars out of warranty now, but just curious

  5. #5
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No logging software as such but IF youre car goes in for a remap with it still present in the ECU, then they can detect it VERY easily. I have used the Tech2 before and to bring up parameters is extremely simple.

    Vx technicians drive these cars all day everyday so know what to expect. For instance a 1.9 CDTi 150bhp drives quick. But with a tuning box it is extremely noticeable. If the tuning box was a remap and still in the ECU, it would be easily spotted by the Tech2 as the technician would be wondering why the car is doing Mach3!

    For a big warranty claim they will check.

    Duncan's BSR system though is undetectable pretty much up to a point. It shows when the ECU was last reset back to standard. If for any reason they ask, just say your battery died, which reverts back to the standard map before the ECU relearns itself.

    Hope that helps.

    If out of warranty - Who cares!

  6. #6
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CDTi
    Vx technicians drive these cars all day everyday so know what to expect. For instance a 1.9 CDTi 150bhp drives quick. But with a tuning box it is extremely noticeable. If the tuning box was a remap and still in the ECU, it would be easily spotted by the Tech2 as the technician would be wondering why the car is doing Mach3!
    - exactly why I always revert mine back to standard when it goes in. Although the main service guy now knows I have a remap! Main reason is just in case they try to install latest ECU software and mess up the remap. Not sure if it would, but better safe than sorry.

    Also I don't want a tech smacking the car into a wall due to him not expecting it to shift so quickly!! :lolL
    Quote Originally Posted by CDTi
    For a big warranty claim they will check.
    Exactly - another reason why I went for the BSR system.
    Quote Originally Posted by CDTi
    Duncan's BSR system though is undetectable pretty much up to a point. It shows when the ECU was last reset back to standard. If for any reason they ask, just say your battery died, which reverts back to the standard map before the ECU relearns itself.
    When you say that it resets to standard map after the battery dies - what happens if the battery dies/is disconnected with remap in? It'll just revert to the standard remapped settings before it then 'learns' again. Obviously it won't, or can't revert back to the standard Vx map as it won't be in the ECU?
    Quote Originally Posted by CDTi
    If out of warranty - Who cares!
    Absolutely

    D

  7. #7
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    When you say that it resets to standard map after the battery dies - what happens if the battery dies/is disconnected with myremap in? It'll just revert to the standard remapped settings before it then 'learns' again. Obviously it won't, or can't revert back to the standard Vx map as it won't be in the ECU?
    No as your map overwrites the standard values these are stored in the EEPROM inside your ECU. So it goes back to standard 'remap' values. Even when the car is remapped the ECU still adapts itself to driving styles. Call your remap a base map which the car improves on. The remap will set maximum limits for things and a base limit, and the car adjusts itself around these.

    It cannot revert back to the standard VX map unless it is reprogrammed back to standard

    BSR systems are top notch IMO, high quality remaps.

  8. #8
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CDTi
    No as your map overwrites the standard values these are stored in the EEPROM inside your ECU. So it goes back to standard 'remap' values. Even when the car is remapped the ECU still adapts itself to driving styles. Call your remap a base map which the car improves on. The remap will set maximum limits for things and a base limit, and the car adjusts itself around these.

    It cannot revert back to the standard VX map unless it is reprogrammed back to standard
    Yep, that's exactly what I thought, just wanted to clarify what you were saying in case I was under the wrong impression!
    Quote Originally Posted by CDTi
    BSR systems are top notch IMO, high quality remaps.
    I won't argue with that! Very, very happy with mine - they certainly know what they're doing!

    D

  9. #9
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Spiffing old chap

  10. #10
    Regular Member suj786's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just out of curiosity, what the cost of a BSR remap ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. remap or chip results.
    By Lee.. in forum Insignia Chat (READ ONLY)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd November 2012, 02:05
  2. 3.2 V6 - Chip (Remap)
    By TTC in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 14th January 2008, 20:44
  3. Superchips 2.2 DTi Remap/Chip
    By BigMan in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd September 2007, 22:08
  4. chip or remap
    By steve.s in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th March 2007, 21:23
  5. Remap/chip 2.2
    By Higgins in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16th January 2006, 20:20

Visitors found this page by searching for:

opel detect tuning

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •