User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Subs n Amps ????

  1. #1
    Regular Member chrispatch88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    hull uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused Subs n Amps ????

    Can you wire a sub n amp to the standard cd player ????????

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    sure, but you may struggle to get a remote out to switch it on, do you mind having a switch to turn it on...

  3. #3
    Regular Member chrispatch88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    hull uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    no not at all but i didnt think there were any aux ports in the back

  4. #4
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    You can but you will need an amp with high level inputs and run speaker feeds to it or use line drivers to convert the high level signal.
    You can also get a switched ignition feed in the boot fuse box and wire the remote feed to it so it comes on with the ignition. Not ideal but better than nothing.

  5. #5
    Regular Member chrispatch88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    hull uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    true true i got an amp with a hi level input but dont have a clue on how to wire that up at all

    to be honest it all confuses me

  6. #6
    Regular Member siross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If the amp already has high level input then just wire your speaker wires up to it.

    As far as I know it's a case of isolating the rear speaker wires and either splicing into these or just extend them to the amp

    I'd go for the latter, just because I dont like the rear speakers in the doors

  7. #7
    Regular Member chrispatch88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    hull uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    how do ya wire the remote switch ??????

  8. #8
    Regular Member siross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Like has already been said, you can also wire to the light in the boot iirc.

    Basically all it needs is a small signal to turn it on.

    If it were me, and I was adamant to keep the original head unit I would go for a proper line driver that will clean up and boost some of the signal coming from the speaker cables. But your looking at ~£150. For that money you can get a decent head unit with 3-4v rca outputs.

    Depends how attached you are to your oem head unit.

  9. #9
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Not such a problem with a low spec HU, but more of a PITA when its got intergated sat nav

  10. #10
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by parapaul View Post
    Not such a problem with a low spec HU, but more of a PITA when its got intergated sat nav
    Which is why mine is staying standard

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What Subs and Amps do people have
    By CraigoT in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 15th December 2011, 22:07
  2. adding subs and amps
    By cdtilee in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 30th December 2009, 20:20
  3. wiring up amps and subs HELP...
    By armoured farmer in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 23rd October 2006, 13:19

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •