User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Blanks Removal - Tomtom

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Blanks Removal - Tomtom

    Does anyone know how you remove the blanks (either side of the radio) that are fitted as I am trying to route a satnav supply up there. Is it also possible to pull the radio far enough out to gain access without actually unplugging it. Thanks all.

    As a by the way as anyone any experience of the quality of sound via the fm transmit (mp3) of a tomtom sat nav, cheers.

  2. #2
    Full Member GazVXLINE170's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigearmuffs View Post
    Does anyone know how you remove the blanks (either side of the radio) that are fitted as I am trying to route a satnav supply up there. Is it also possible to pull the radio far enough out to gain access without actually unplugging it. Thanks all.

    As a by the way as anyone any experience of the quality of sound via the fm transmit (mp3) of a tomtom sat nav, cheers.
    I used two dinner knifes, one at either side of the blank and squeezed the blank very gently (the trim damages easily btw) then gently pulled the blank til it just fell out.

    Gazza4
    Insignia VX-Line Nav CDTI 170.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Larkhall
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The sound quality of the fm transmitter is quite good, although it depends on what frequency you use and wether you are getting a strong enough signal

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cheers Gazza4 and T4M. I bought an MP3 player with FM transmit at the weekend and it is very low quality, hence I have been looking at the Tomtom version (kill two birds with one stone) but I don't want leads all over so I was looking for a route behind the dash for the power. Thanks for the replys.

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigearmuffs View Post
    Does anyone know how you remove the blanks (either side of the radio) that are fitted...
    Big blob of blu-tak, push it onto blank and gently pull - blank should release.
    Quote Originally Posted by bigearmuffs View Post
    Is it also possible to pull the radio far enough out to gain access without actually unplugging it.
    The connector is on the cage, so as soon as you pull the unit out it will have already disconnected.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Duncan, time to find that ball of blu tak.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lincs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The connector is on the cage, so as soon as you pull the unit out it will have already disconnected.
    How do you mean Duncan - I can get my radio all the way out with it still connected and working.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you take the trim strip off the dash & loosen the display/vent housing (2 or 3 screws behind the trim) you can feed the wire up behind the trim strip. I then filed a notch in the end of the trim strip & brought the wires for the TomTom & Parrot out right next to the steering column. They can then be neatly brought round to the TomTom & Parrot
    .
    .

  9. #9
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vxvirgin View Post
    How do you mean Duncan - I can get my radio all the way out with it still connected and working.
    Ah right, it must differ between head unit models then. On my CCR2600 the plug is attached to the back of the metal cage that the HU slides into, so as soon as I start to pull the HU the plug comes out of the socket on the HU. On yours is the cable with the plug 'loose' and pulls out with the HU? Which HU is it?

  10. #10
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On the CD30 it's a quadlock connected directly to the radio

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. key blanks
    By Swedge in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th October 2012, 17:55
  2. Key blanks?
    By pogvec in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th May 2012, 23:03
  3. Blanks?
    By BigWilko in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10th October 2010, 19:58
  4. What goes in the blanks?
    By bigdave1701 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th April 2010, 17:07
  5. Dvd blanks!! Price??
    By the-wizard in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th April 2009, 00:41

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •