User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Can i make rear acc. socket permanent live ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member deanos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Can i make rear acc. socket permanent live ?

    Atfter getting the kids a DVD player for the car, ive found an annoying niggle when i turn off the car the power goes out so the dvd has to start from scratch, is there a way i can make the rear accesory socket permanent live ?

  2. #2
    Regular Member Little John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This would be a great mod, one in the boot of a hatchback would be cool aswell

  3. #3
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep, you certainly can! You're meaning the one where the rear vents are?

    I did mine - had to take a wee bit of trim out though to do it as I ran the cable from the front fusebox......



    You can see the additional red cable I ran taped around the 'loom' running towards the centre console.

  4. #4
    Regular Member deanos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    Yep, you certainly can! You're meaning the one where the rear vents are?

    I did mine - had to take a wee bit of trim out though to do it as I ran the cable from the front fusebox......
    Yes the one near the rear vents, is it easy to do ?

    Dont fancy taking half the car apart like in your pic

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanos View Post
    Dont fancy taking half the car apart like in your pic
    Well you need to run a permanent live cable from somewhere, and given the absence of those in that area, especially one that can take 10A, the best option I decided was to run it from the front fusebox. Not really any other option really TBH.

    You could try and run it from the rear fusebox but then you have to get the cable routed into the centre console, and from the front fusebox it's, IMO, a much easier route and option.

  6. #6
    Ex Vec-C Admin Stevel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That Pic. should come with a public health warning.

    Get palpitations every time I see it.

  7. #7
    Regular Member deanos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Where in the fuse box did you get the supply from, is there a spare outlet., do you have a pic by any chance ?

  8. #8
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stevel View Post
    That Pic. should come with a public health warning.

    Get palpitations every time I see it.
    Now you can see why I did the front socket to perma live at the same time!

    Quote Originally Posted by deanos View Post
    Where in the fuse box did you get the supply from, is there a spare outlet., do you have a pic by any chance ?
    Ooh, not got a close-up pic I'm afraid but IIRC it was a spare 10A outlet I used.

    Hang on, I'll whip out my glove box and remind myself and get a pic if I can.....

  9. #9
    Regular Member deanos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That would be great m8

    I have to take the glovebox out , im sure i can do that

    Didnt realise this dvd milarky would cause all this headache

  10. #10
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanos View Post
    That would be great m8
    NP, just off out now. I was doing a bit of wiring on the drivers side with some trim off so no biggie to whip out the glove box.
    Quote Originally Posted by deanos View Post
    I have to take the glovebox out , im sure i can do that
    Ah, but you'll still need to remove all the other trim though!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Permanent live cigarette lighter socket for solar panel
    By craig20102010 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 25th December 2012, 13:25
  2. Wiring an amp, need an ignition live and permanent live in the boot
    By inchy1981 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd November 2012, 16:36
  3. Permanent live near front accessory socket ?
    By jon1.9cdti in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th June 2012, 23:44
  4. Where can i take a permanent live feed from rear fuse box ?
    By deanos in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12th June 2009, 16:40
  5. permanent live
    By lizard in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th October 2008, 16:25

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •