User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: AirCon Compressor

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bolton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default AirCon Compressor

    My Aircon doesnt work, Couldnt check it when I bought it as the weather was too cold to feel any difference.
    There are no apparent leaks and there is plenty of presure in the system.

    I suspect the compressor isnt turning on when I flip the switch.

    The light comes on on the switch and the fan comes on if it wasnt on already.

    There is no engine change or noise from the compressor,

    Is the outside edge of the compressor supposed to spin when its switched on, I always thought it should as its just activated by energising the magnet.

    If its a fuse then where is it ?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bolton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Any Ideas.

    Anyone know what possible faults it could be?

    Had a search through the fuses and all are ok.

    What indecation does the compressor show if it is working? Should it be making at least more noise that nothing?

    Could it be even though there is gas in the system its not as a high enough presure?

    Should I just take it to a garage anyway?

  3. #3
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    247 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    If there isnt enough gass in the system a switch tells the compressor not to engage to avoid damage to it. First port of call is to get the gas pressure checked

  4. #4
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plasma View Post
    First port of call is to get the gas pressure checked
    Quote Originally Posted by scottymf View Post
    There are no apparent leaks and there is plenty of presure in the system.
    Um....

  5. #5
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    247 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    bah... lol.. Who confirmed there was plenty of pressure in the system? Have you had this checked yourself?

    Will have a look into the aircon system and see what powers what...

  6. #6
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    247 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    FE10 in the underhood fuse box supplys a 10A feed to the aircon clutch...

    pin 30 and 85 of the aircon relay (not sure where this is yet) relay are fed by this, pin 87 comes live when relay activated. Pin 86 of the relay is controlled by the engine ECU and turns on the relay.. All the info i have for now

    In the fuseboard by the batter, the 3rd relay up on the right from nearest the slam panel is the aircon relay, would have though you would be able to hear this click on when you get someone operating the aircon switch...
    Last edited by plasma; 14th June 2008 at 21:36.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    the person who pressure checked the system, if they are a pukka fridge engineer, will be able to tell you if it's the compressor not cutting in or not just Via their guages......

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bolton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have only checked the presure myself. Its does have presure but weather there is enough I dont know,
    One of my previous cars had a leak on the aircon and after getting it regased it didnt take long for the gas presure to go down to nothing.
    Ill check the relays later.
    I think the next port of call will be an aircon place,
    Thanks for the adivce.

    Cheers

  9. #9
    Regular Member BIG NEIL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Back in Belfast!!!!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    get your air con system serviced and refilled i think thats what you need,mine still had pressure but was still dead no leaks either

  10. #10
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scottymf View Post
    I have only checked the presure myself. Its does have presure but weather there is enough I dont know,
    One of my previous cars had a leak on the aircon and after getting it regased it didnt take long for the gas presure to go down to nothing.
    Ill check the relays later.
    I think the next port of call will be an aircon place,
    Thanks for the adivce.

    Cheers
    A/C isn't something that can be done without the proper gear and training.. so take it to a professional and get it looked at.. i reckon it'll be well under pressure

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Aircon compressor clutch
    By MattBrowning in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st July 2012, 12:50
  2. Zafira aircon compressor
    By JherekC in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th May 2012, 09:29
  3. Aircon Compressor - Where in the N.E.?
    By mpc in forum North East RO Vacant - ARO - Vacant
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st November 2011, 16:10
  4. Aircon compressor clutch/pulley?
    By lee gsi in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th February 2011, 10:44
  5. aircon compressor
    By The-Bandit in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th May 2008, 23:22

Visitors found this page by searching for:

air con compressor change vectra c site:www.vectra-c.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •