User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: PC Problems, driving me round the twist ....

  1. #1
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default PC Problems, driving me round the twist ....

    Can anyone throw any light on my PC problem ...

    Started just before christmas and I have tried to sort it, but it has beaten me !!!

    When the PC starts up it is normal, but i cannot click on anything, then after a couple of minutes it is OK. When I open the internet the click on either Outlook or Explorer the pc locks up, wont do anything for about 3 minutes then it opens OK. If I bring up the task manager, which takes about 10 seconds to open, it unlocks again. I then have to do the same for Explorer, then everything runs fine.

    I have uninstalled evrything which I have installed since the problem started. I have tried system restore ? I have checked all my Antivirus settings which are all OK. The database is up to date and I have done scans, no virus found (I run AVG 7 Profesional, not the freebie version) I have run Adaware, stinger, spybot etc and nothing found ..

    Also had a look in the registry and nothing odd there, could it be a memory problem, as in faulty, I have 768k ? Also I have all the windows updates in including SP 1&2 ...

    It is doing my head in !!!!!! Don`t want to admit defeat but think I have to ....

  2. #2
    Regular Member bobbyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Durham...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    we had a similar problem last year, turned out to be spyware..have you tried spysweeper by webroot its very good plus we had no probs since installing it. the web addy is http://www.webroot.com cheers, Bob.

  3. #3
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Or go and get Microsoft's anti-spyware, which is free, amazingly, and not half bad!

    Phil

  4. #4
    Regular Member Tim2100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Walsall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sounds like the computer needs a rebuild.

    Back up your data
    Format your harddrive
    Reinstall Windows!

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim2100
    Sounds like the computer needs a rebuild.

    Back up your data
    Format your harddrive
    Reinstall Windows!
    Thats what I am trying to avoid !, I think I might have to bite the bullet though. I am on dialup and updating windows takes hours ..

  6. #6
    Regular Member Tim2100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Walsall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I know I need to rebuild mine soon. I keep putting it off. but When I do I will use some imaging software which will make it much easier. Most PC's do need to be rebuilt & cleared off every now & again.

    Why you still on Dial-up?

    There are lots of good deals on Broadband now!! I have just signed up to 1mb broadband (Line can only take 1MB) unlimited downloads for £10 a month! A lot better than the £30 I was paying BT!!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Try ctrl/alt+del and look at the processes that are running. Then use the link below to see if any of them are rogue ones. Any you can't find on there, just type into google and see if they're valid processes or not.

    http://www.tasklist.org/

  8. #8
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim2100


    Why you still on Dial-up?

    There are lots of good deals on Broadband now!! I have just signed up to 1mb broadband (Line can only take 1MB) unlimited downloads for £10 a month! A lot better than the £30 I was paying BT!!

    Don`t get me started, I was on a commitee in Cove, where i live, to get broadband here as we were not enebled. we were succesful in getting enabled after a lot of campaigning. I ordered mine up and nothing. Too far from the exchange.... After a year extended reach was annonced, and I could get it, so i ordered it and again it didn`t work, Engineer came out tested everything, no problem with the house . I live in a circle and the cable is damaged. As it can carry a voice call, which is all BT are contracted to do, they won`t fix it so no one in the circle can get broadband.

    So I am stuck with poxy dial up .....

  9. #9
    Regular Member armoured farmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    "Where the WIFE tells me", but mainly in the DOG HOUSE....
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Wink

    Try going to http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/global/index.html , go to bottom of page and click on security check (nortons) and look for free online scan, because this is the only free online spyware scanner and anti-virus checker, that checks the restore folder.
    Last edited by armoured farmer; 31st January 2006 at 18:16.

  10. #10
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Tommy - bite the bullet mate and rebuild. Don't use any imaging software as what's causing the problem could/will be transferred to your new image. Just backup any data you need to a storage device (CD/DVD/USB) and format your drive/s then install everything again. You sound like you know what you're doing anyway.

    As it's been said, PC's need a rebuild every now and again, so it's time for yours now. I know it's a ball ache but it's better than going round in circles (as you've already been doing by the sound of it).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. B4 all round or B6 all round? Advice Please.
    By paz_badboy4life in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th January 2011, 19:39
  2. Police Opel 2.8 driving round Leeds
    By Ziggy in forum Spotted or put a flyer on a Vectra C/Signum or Insignia?
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd February 2010, 16:55
  3. A twist to the V
    By Knight Rider in forum Styling
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 25th May 2009, 16:43
  4. Slight twist on the VXR rim.
    By rushy in forum Styling
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 29th December 2006, 01:19
  5. skipping with a twist !!!!!!!
    By Drinky in forum Comedy & Humour
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th October 2005, 20:16

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •