User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Rainsensor

  1. #1
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Rainsensor

    My new rainsensor is tech 2'd in and the garage say there are no faults in the system but it still does not work they want £190 to fit a rainsensor as the replaced windscreen means the warranty is not valid because of this any clues anybody any fuses to check in case etc?

  2. #2
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    All i can tell you is its powered off the REC and thats about it.... I could hook the laptop to it and it would have told you if it detects the rain hitting the screen. But unless your coming to PVS then I think your options are quite limited

  3. #3
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cheers for the offer unfortunately I won't be at PVS. It has been checked on Tech 2 and all seems in order no fault codes and I have checked the voltages with a multimeter and there is a permenant feed and a switched ignition feed onm the outer 2 pins and 99ohms on the centre pin. The stealers reckon the sensor is faulty but I don't understand why it intermittent wipes instead of doing nothing on the first position.

  4. #4
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulhb View Post
    ... I don't understand why it intermittent wipes instead of doing nothing on the first position.
    The rainsensor can be disabled via Tech2... is there any chance that this has been done?

  5. #5
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No it is definately active according to the garage and there are no faults in the system and there is voltage present at the plug they want £187 to replace it.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Silver V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    mmmmmmmmmmmm
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    well if the windscreen was replaced and the rain sensor doesnt work call the guys who fitted the screen! oh and £190 for a sensor jog the F**k on, you can get these for less than £50 new and even cheaper second hand! takes less then 5 mins to fit, pop off the plastic cowling un-hinge the silver metal connectors gently prise out the sensor and then unclip the flimsy plug / wire. very very easy mate

  7. #7
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I know its easy I have removed it to try and test the voltages but the stealers price is £99 plus the dreaded where can you get them for £50?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Silver V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    mmmmmmmmmmmm
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I used to work for RAC Autowindscreens so they got them but they were no-where near £100 plus vat was £30 plus vat! Even a second hand one will do, all you do is turn ignition on then spray a bit of water over the sensor with the wiper stalk on setting one.

  9. #9
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Autoglass won't help they say its my fault because to make it easier for them I removed it all in advance to make the job go quickly and also because I have had problems with the connectors myself and replaced the roof loom once already, how do I get a new one at £30 +vat go to Autoglass and ask them to supply one?

  10. #10
    Regular Member Silver V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    mmmmmmmmmmmm
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you could, they get them fairly cheap but then they wil add cost on to you.

    AutoGlass ses it all really, make sure that they used rust proof primer on your aperture, if not you'll soon have rust building up very rapidly as all water runs down those sides and trickle into the scuttle panel, not only that but also jepodises the integrity of the windscreen.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Retro fitting rainsensor
    By sulten in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th July 2009, 19:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •