User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Towbar electrics

  1. #1
    Regular Member amiddleton's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Towbar electrics

    I have just purchased a towbar and genuine electrics to plug into my 06 Veccie. In the instructions is says it has to be tech2 and the stealer wants £79 for this due to tech2 and reprogramming.

    I friend just done his and it works fine. Should i have it Tech 2 ????

    Cheers in advance

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Some cars need it Tech 2d in, some don't. I'd get it all fitted first and see if, like your friend, yours also works. If it does then no Tech 2 needed.

    BTW £79 is taking the pee big time for something that takes five minutes!

  3. #3
    Regular Member amiddleton's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Apparantley £52 for the tech 2 part and the rest to reprogram, i am going to just fit and see as i have spent £168 already on the bar etc (Big Sigh)

  4. #4
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amiddleton View Post
    Apparantley £52 for the tech 2 part and the rest to reprogram,..
    Tech 2 and reprogram are the same thing i.e telling the car, if needed, that it has the module. Don't understand why they've quoted Tech 2 and reprogram as different 'items'.
    Quote Originally Posted by amiddleton View Post
    ...i am going to just fit and see as i have spent..
    Yep, deffo best option. There's a good chsnce it won't even need a Tech 2.

  5. #5
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    would you need it tech2'ing if you had factory reversing sensors?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Towbar Electrics
    By slipperysam1984 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd June 2010, 15:53
  2. Towbar Electrics
    By r.bailey63 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th October 2009, 19:05
  3. Vx Towbar Electrics
    By decho in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10th October 2006, 08:42
  4. Towbar electrics
    By CPHB in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th July 2005, 21:28

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •