User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: PC, well Laptop help please.

  1. #1
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default PC, well Laptop help please.

    Hi guys, Iím after a bit of help here, so bear with me, lol.
    My laptop went belly up this morning just at the vital moment when I really need it.
    Fortunately I have a backup I can use, hence how I can still get on here, lol, but this was the last thing I needed this morning.
    Apologise for the length of this, but itís gona take a bit to explain.

    I donít think this is relevant but the hard drive has been nearing its limit for a while now, it is or was, down to its last 2-3GBís of space, but knowing this I had already ordered a new one last week after I was paid.
    Anyway, it was fine yesterday, no problems at all and it shut down perfectly normally.
    And no, no changes have been made with either software or hardware in any way, shape or form, itís only been shut down and re-booted.
    But this morning it booted up as far as the black XP logo screen and froze there, staying on it with the little blue bar running, but didnít move off it for a good 25-30 minutes before I forced it to shutdown.
    When it re-booted I got the usual safe mode options etc.
    I tried last known good configuration first and it was exactly the same, froze on the black XP logo screen.
    Next I tried safe mode boot, it came up with loads of lines of text all starting:

    ď multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows\system 32\drivers\........Ē

    First part is all the same, last bit where I put dots is all different SYS files ?
    Thereís loads of it, it goes right off the screen and happens so fast I canít even read the first line of whatever error message may, or may not, come up, and it freezes there, I canít seem to scroll up either, to see if I get any error message.
    Seeing as I have everything backed up a couple of weeks ago, I didnít have much too loose.
    So I stuck the system recovery disc in and wiped everything with a fresh install figuring my over packed hard drive must have just crashed out.
    To my dismay it was still exactly the same.
    Next I unplugged everything from the lappy, dongles, trackball etc, nothing left plugged in except the network cable and power supply, and I done anther full recovery. (which, by the way, appears to work perfectly)
    And yes it was still the same, so now I figure the hard drive must have simply given up the ghost.
    Low and behold, thereís a knock at the door and the new hard drive turns up, lol, timing could not have been better.
    So, in it goes, along with the system recovery disc again, and all appears to go well as it had before.
    And yes, you have guessed it, itís still the same and now I am stuck as to what to do next ?
    Logic would dictate that as the hard drives are fine, then it must be another hard ware failure, but what ?
    Having said that, when trying to boot in safe mode all that text with sys files listed suggests something is corrupted to me, but it canít be the windows install itself as this is fresh, so what does that leave ?
    Can the bios get corrupted and cause this ?
    Any ideas or suggestions gratefully received ?

  2. #2
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Got anything to check the laptop's memory.. faulty memory can do strange things..

  3. #3
    Regular Member MysteryElite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North Somerset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Unlikely the bios is corrupted, but I guess possible the settings have been lost if the backup/bios memory battery has gone. I've known this happen in desktops before now. When you boot, see if you can get into the BIOS settings - often its the "Del" key but not always (F2 is another that rings a bell).

    If you can get in check the settings and maybe get it to autodetect any devices if you get that option.

    Another possibility you could check would be a memory fault. You can download memory checker utilities (e.g. memtest86) that you can use to create a bootable disk and then boot from that to run a memory test.

    Otherwise maybe something like the video chip, but if so that could be bad news as they are most often built in on laptops.

    Another tack may be to download one of the Linux versions that will run from a CD. One option is DSL (damn small linux) that isn't too big. Download the iso, burn to a CD and boot from that. At least this should eliminate video issues.

    HTH

  4. #4
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lofty View Post
    Got anything to check the laptop's memory.. faulty memory can do strange things..
    Yeah, I upgraded it, but then used it in the EEEPC I am using now, got a half gig stick I could try I guess. (2GB in it now)
    I'll give it a go, got to be worth a try.
    Cheers.

    Edit, cheers, will try the memory first.

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I reckon memory martin. Had loads of bother recently with my desktop (my old one), turned out to be a dodgy stick of ram
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  6. #6
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nope, doesn't look like it m8, popped the half gig memory in and still no change.
    Yes I can still get into the bios screen, all appears normal in there.
    I'll have a look for DSL, cheers.

    When I try and boot in safe mode, there’s definitely a message there, but all the other crap comes up so quick it’s impossible to read, is there any way too scroll up or freeze the screen before it fills up ?

  7. #7
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    does hitting 'pause' quickly as it comes up, not work. Other than that, I wouldn't know how to capture it. This is a strange one mate.
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  8. #8
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cheers, yes the pause/break button worked, always wondered what that button was for, lol.
    Thereís no error message, it just says to us the arrow keys to scroll up and down, which doesnít work.
    But anyway, no error message in safe mode, just loads, as in pages and pages, of text like this.

    ď multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows\system 32\drivers\........Ē

    The dots being all different sys files, which still looks like a windows error to me, canít understand why a fresh install wouldnít sort this though if thatís the case, which still just leaves me thinking some kind of hardware failure, but god knows what ?

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Martin, put everything back how it was (ie, old HDD back and memory back) then try this; open your dvd or cd drawer and put the winxp disc in then restart the laptop, as soon as it starts, keep hitting delete til it enters setup (sorry just realised you already know that lol) and change the boot sequence so it boots from the cd first, then save it and restart again. When it starts it will ask you to press any key to boot from cd, then follow the options to repair windows. If that doesn't work then I give in lol
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  10. #10
    Regular Member Small Racer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hampshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I may have missed this bit:
    Does your laptop have memory fixed to the mother board + a slot or 2 for you to add extra. Sounds really like its trying to go to 32 bit mode and fails, and in safe mode having problems reading the disk (sys files) and dumping them and pageing them to memory or swap space on the drive. (Memory error)
    Have you tried - setting the bios to all defaults (or sometimes called safe options) - ergo 'slow' the memory.

    the 'multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows\syste m 32\drivers
    is just where the boot.ini states the partition to boot & disk to boot from.
    So as it reads system 32\drivers - it is trying to load up 32 bit drivers and fails.
    Problem is - is that even with a fresh install xp will spot the partition info and still use it. Hence the R option.
    So if it does the same with a fresh hd it must be a block of memory.
    Often laptops have a block (256 or 512 or 1Gb) blown on the board and then just have one slot.
    If you do have slots - take out any ram and see what you have in the bios. If you have ANY try a boot - with none in the expansion slot.
    If all that fails - does - your video card share memory with the main ram - try to reset this option to the default.
    OR - as posted above - get hold of Linux (burn an ISO image on you pc from the internet - its free) and see if the machine runs from CD. If not it could be the board memory or memory controller has failed.#

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. laptop help
    By neill in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10th August 2011, 22:27
  2. Laptop for car
    By lizard in forum General Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 13th June 2011, 17:28
  3. laptop
    By fjaimo10 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th June 2011, 20:46
  4. Using the laptop thru the TV
    By KeefyB in forum General Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 30th August 2010, 12:51

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Vectra c dsl difficult to start in morning

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •