User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Sat Nav System

  1. #1
    Regular Member ADAM123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Sat Nav System

    hello again, i apologise for flooding the forum with my questions
    i own a 2003 vectra sxi 2.0 dti with a cdr2005.
    i have just purchased the following sat nav kit from ebay and was hoping to retro fit it.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA:IT&ih=015

    i'm an absolute novice and was wondering what else i need. i know i need a nav aerial base and require a tech2.

    if i buy a nav aerial base, will it connect using my existing cables within my roof lining? will i need any other looms etc?... i would really appreciate if someone could help me please. has anyone on here done this upgrade before?.....many thanks in advance. adam

  2. #2
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think there maybe a few canbus issues there as yours is half can bus and I think thats a full can bus unit.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    Sorry to disappoint m8 but as yours is half CANBUS you can't fit that system into your car

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i think that there's a big can of worms coming your way.....

    there's too many 'issues' with installing it for it to be plug n play, or even a straight forward fit...

    was the unit properly removed using tech2?.. can this be verified?
    the cabling will be different.. chris gettings priced this up at over £1800..just to convert to full canbus

    if you do pull this off it'll be a first... good luck, but i think the headache is just starting....

  5. #5
    Regular Member ADAM123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    'kin hell! should have researched before hand. i'm not gonna pay for it as it was described as plug and play.

    really appreciate your help

  6. #6
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It would be plug and play, into the right car.

  7. #7
    Regular Member ADAM123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    whats canbus?

  8. #8
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Taken from the eBay listing:
    "EASY AND SIMPLE INSTALLATION

    PLUG AND PLAY , TAKES AROUND 10 MIN TO INSTALL"

    1. some have done it, but it is not easy see: http://forum.vectra-c.com/showthread.php?t=44828

    2. but as it comes from an Astra, the display will not fit

    3. changing the display will not work, because it comes fom a breakers and pretty sure it has not been tech2'd out of the car

  9. #9
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Canbus is the way all the ecu's talk to each other in the car, if ones missing or wrong it throws up a fault.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    They didn't come from an Astra either That display is for a Vec/Signum (Astra is totally different) and the head unit is the wrong shape to be an Astra one too

    Still won't fit yours though unfortunately m8.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What a cr@p system !
    By FIL 4822 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22nd December 2012, 16:46
  2. Csa Changes to System ?
    By spennny in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 25th January 2012, 22:41
  3. BRC LPG System
    By Aidi in forum General Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd January 2012, 10:20
  4. Which nav system is this
    By Shogun in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th August 2011, 10:41
  5. DTUK multimap power system and red power system - opinions please :D
    By Princess D in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th December 2010, 01:03

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •