User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Double DIN Nav Replacing factory ICE

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Swadlincote
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Double DIN Nav Replacing factory ICE

    I am looking at buying a 2002 Vectra C Elite to replace my 2005 SRi CDTi NAV, the elite doesn't have the factory Nav like my SRi but does have the on board computer. I am thinking (if i get the Elite) of putting in an aftermarket double din head unit / Sat Nav system as it is obviously much easier and cheaper than retro-fitting Vauxhall Nav equipment.
    What I want to know though is if I remove the factory head unit am I going to lose all functions of teh trip computer as well??

  2. #2
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    Moved to this section.

    The "How 2" section is for detailed descriptions of "How 2" do a certain task on the car

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by p.m.adams View Post
    What I want to know though is if I remove the factory head unit am I going to lose all functions of teh trip computer as well??
    From what I recall of other posts, almost certainly. You won't be able to change the clock either when BST or GMT come around. For that you will have to leave the socket hanging down somewhere by the glovebox and plug in the original stereo a couple of times a year to be able to change it.

  4. #4
    On a Sabbatical daviek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ayrshire scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Changed the head unit in my previous veccy and still had the use of the board computer and full control of clock settings. Best to buy the fitting kit from vauxhall .Only a single din though but worth it for the wiring loom itself and then you would need a seperate double din adaptor

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Swadlincote
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Any idea how much the vauxhall fitting kit is? It's for a 2002 2.2DTi with monochrome trip display.

  6. #6
    Full Member lochgilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    argyll
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if i remember the vauxhall kit is about £38 but you can just buy the wiring loom to bring it down to normal iso for £20 and the double din kit will be £40 and you can get them all with free postage from here mate

    http://www.justkenwood.co.uk/install...del.asp?id=288

    hope that helps
    cheers
    Scott

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Swadlincote
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    That's great. Thanks.
    Anybody got any opinions which double DIN Sat Nav / Radio system is good. I'm not looking to spend top money but something decent

  8. #8
    Full Member lochgilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    argyll
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Whats your budget mate

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Swadlincote
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    About £500 I guess, obviously if I can get something that's good for less that would be a bonus!!!

  10. #10
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/kenw...20-p-6497.html

    thats the cheapest i have found with sat nav not sure if you will get a new one with £500 perhaps try ebay for a second hand one?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replacing A NCDC 2013 Radio with a 'Normal' double DIN Headunit?
    By StreetDragster in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 20th September 2013, 21:41
  2. Factory amp???
    By Jonsey in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th January 2012, 12:43
  3. Replacing my cd30 with double din from China
    By yournicked2006 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th February 2011, 17:50
  4. Replacing Factory Radio - Vec C
    By BruceyB in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th October 2010, 10:48
  5. Replacing Headunit for a Double Din HU...
    By fandango in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th July 2009, 22:15

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •