User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Need help on wiring a Kill switch

  1. #1
    Regular Member bruceybonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Preston Area
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Need help on wiring a Kill switch

    Luckily the siggy is running fine at the mo, but I could do with a little help on my other beastie



    I've been having a chronic battery draining problem and i'm having trouble finding the cause so I've decided to try to fit a kill switch for the battery whilst I try to find out the problem.

    I'm wondering , do I fit it on the + side or the negative side of the battery? would it make any difference, I'm guessing either way it's cutting the circuit, which would you recommend as the quickest and easiest way of doing it?

    there are 2 feeds coming off the batt on the + , one goes to the alternator and the other to the fuse box, could it fit this on just the fuesbox feed?

    any help would be much appreciated

  2. #2
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    Remember that the 'kill' switch would have to be rated for the max current it will carry. If there is only one wire for the earth, then the switch would have to be able to handle starter cranking currents = NOT GOOD.

    I guess that the 2 wires from + are main starter wire (heavy wire? - via alternator), and power for everything else.
    If you are sure that the starter motor or alternator isn't draining the battery (unlikely), then the other one from the battery is prob the best to fit such a device. Have you searched Ebay for those quick circuit breaker devices? They will do starting currents too. To completely break the circuit, just remove the fuse in the device. eg Here which is rated for up to 500 Amps - should be high enough for starter cranking current.

  3. #3
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    If you fit the kill switch to the battery Negative then you will still run the risk of having parallel earths (ie: a local earth from say the lights, radio, instrument cluster etc..) which may still allow the batttery to drain if the faulty circuit has a local earth.. if you want to kill the whole car you'll need to cut the Live, a Race and Rally type kill switch will be fine as this is what they are designed to do.. On our Range rover that was just used for offroading the kill switch killed the whole car.. We took both battery lives into the switch no problem..

  4. #4
    Regular Member fields's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Lincoln
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Google Dis-car-nect, I used one on a Discovery with no problems and at about £15 not too expensive

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    N. Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    have you tried getting a new battery?

  6. #6
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I would try and find the problem. Have you tried testing the battery and alternator? Does it have an aftermarket stereo or alarm?

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    what about here

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Heavy-Duty-Bat...ayphotohosting

    its not the best but will do the job and its cheap to

  8. #8
    Regular Member bruceybonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Preston Area
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hmm, I can see a drain from one of the circuits - but i dont know what is on that circuit, not much help from tha manual., but it only happens when it's been raining, I'm not sure exactly where it is on that circuit, the switch is intended to give me a little more time to find the fault... the battery is brand new and the switch can handle up to 500amps which should be more than enough. I have feeling it may be the elec aerial, but not sure, I can head a ticking noise eveynow and again which corresponds with a jump in drain... constant 3a and spikes to 6a every 60 secs or so, so it could be a relay of some kind..
    Last edited by bruceybonus; 30th April 2008 at 16:36.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    Try disconnecting the aerial and see if the drain is eliminated.

  10. #10
    Regular Member bruceybonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Preston Area
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    lol,.. easier said than done!... its an in the wing jobby

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. t/c switch wiring
    By mrk in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 9th November 2013, 12:16
  2. Handbrake switch wiring
    By StephNET in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th May 2011, 05:38
  3. TC Switch programming or wiring?
    By vxpenfold in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25th May 2011, 20:22
  4. Wiring up the TC switch
    By parsco in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th March 2010, 20:07
  5. Ignition switch wiring please!
    By blue estate in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 30th August 2008, 00:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •