User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: add subwoofer to original head unit?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused add subwoofer to original head unit?

    could anyone plz help me? I want to know if there is any way I can add a subwoofer to a original head unit? I really want to add a sub but dont want to change the headunit! Is there ne adaptors which I can add? I dont want to attach it from the rear speakers!

    Please if anyone knows can you let me no!
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Niks View Post
    could anyone plz help me? I want to know if there is any way I can add a subwoofer to a original head unit? I really want to add a sub but dont want to change the headunit! Is there ne adaptors which I can add? I dont want to attach it from the rear speakers!

    Please if anyone knows can you let me no!
    Thanks
    halfords sell some rca jack plugs which you wire into the rear speaker wires behind the head unit m8 and they cost about £6.99

  3. #3
    Regular Member S14RRJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    excellent just the answer to the same question !

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    oh rite! So this will give me the outputs I need? Also the quality be similar?

  5. #5
    Regular Member kpf1grandprix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    luton beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    was asking this before,,,but i wanted th vx subwoofer ,that you could of got as an option,,,,

  6. #6
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    You will be no better off with these connectors than connecting the rear speakers to the high voltage input on the amp (if there are any). The sound quality will be the same, as both types will had the 'signal' through the head unit main amp, and the inherent distortion therein.

  7. #7
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    I have an rca converter fitted running a sub. I would steer clear tbh as the base is poor quality and go for a line driver instead. It has its own power source and can also run multiple amps if needed, so in affect you could run one amp for a sub and another running all the door speakers. HTH

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    oh right! If I can get the wiring done from the front then I may consider it! I thought you had to take the rear door panels off etc but guess not! I want to get a double 12" pioneer but the qual of the sub wont be as good as the after market headunits?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    or is it best to change the headunit! But i dont want to take the front look away!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New head unit
    By blackbeauty in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th November 2011, 17:16
  2. New Head Unit
    By SwavGav85 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th October 2008, 09:38
  3. Head Unit
    By vauxhall4life in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th February 2008, 11:24
  4. New head-unit
    By Christof in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th March 2007, 19:35

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •