User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: whoops....when changed pads

  1. #1
    Regular Member Craig1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    harwich essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Eek whoops....when changed pads

    the stealers have changed my pads before and i done them a second time,

    but when i done them, i opened fluid res and pused piston back slowly without undoing bleed nipple? is this wrong have i fooked up my m/c?

    ive now read threads where people saying this is what you have to do? whoops?

    my brakes certainly dont feel as sharp and hard as when car was brand new?

    help

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    unless you were aggressive when you pushed back the pistons you'll be fine..they will need about 200 miles to fully bed into the discs, so you must brake early and carefully.. they will get better....

  3. #3
    Regular Member aerodynamic18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lisburn, N.Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i have never opened the bleed nipple to push back the piston is this wrong? also to bleed the system is it better 4 the car to be on or off?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Somewhere I probably shouldn't be
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    For a full proper bleed, the ABS needs to be activated, this can only be done by the dealer (or someone with a TECH2 - I think it's controlled by the TECH2). Air can get caught up in the ABS actuator and the only way to get the air out is by bleeding it with the ABS actuator on.

  5. #5
    Regular Member aerodynamic18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lisburn, N.Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    well i am changin my calipers soon so have a brake line clamp thing which my friend has use no problem so i only need to bleed a little i.e. the end ot the hose just to fill the caliper so will i still be ok to do this with out the abs on?

  6. #6
    Regular Member Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yep no probs with that, just make sure that the resevoir is kept topped up, therefore no air can possibly get to any important bits.

  7. #7
    Regular Member amar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    When replacing brake pads all that is required is that the brake fluid reservior cap be removed thus allowing the brake fluid to rise up when the piston is pushed back. this will not allow any air into the system.

    with respect to replacing the callipers, as mentioned before so long as the reservior does not become empty when bleeding the brakes all is well.

    the abs system can be bled without switching the car on, it just takes some time. you are advised to always start furthest away ie passengerside rear wheel, then drivers side rear, then passengerside front and finally drivers side front. when bleeding the brakes if you look at the colour of the fluid it will become apparent when the new clean fuild comes thorugh, once it is coming through clean at the first point then lock it up and move on to the next.

    when i did mine i used between 1-2 litres of brake fluid so that i was sure the fluid was new all round and throughout the system.

    hope this helps...

  8. #8
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What're the opinions on the Eezi-Bleed Pressure System??

  9. #9
    Regular Member glenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sunny Dartmoor
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Used one years back and thought they were great,would definately use one again if i had the money to buy one,they're a tad expensive,iirc..........

  10. #10
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Did you do the rear pads? if so you should use a winder rather than just push them back.

    If it is the rears, you might get away with refitting the old pads and pumping the pistons back out, then use the winder to push them back and put the new pads back in, it's a 21mm winder you need.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Changed Front Brake Pads
    By Tank988 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 21st January 2012, 18:21
  2. Changed front pads now no brakes
    By Signum150 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th June 2010, 17:14
  3. changed pads, grinding noise!?
    By mattster87 in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16th May 2010, 20:13
  4. Changed front pads today...
    By hagga in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th May 2007, 12:54
  5. Brake pads and discs changed
    By bruceybonus in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st January 2007, 23:10

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •