User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Computer problem.

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    The Blackburn End
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Computer problem.

    This problem has annoyed me because its an accumilation of a few things on my home laptop.

    Firstly, I ditched the Wanadoo wireless broadband internet & account because it kept breaking and I was going through a wireless router ( Livebox) every month.
    Secondly, when the new BT broadband software & wired router arrived, the CD-rom wouldn't run properly because the driver had mysteriously vanished.

    So, I can't download a new driver because I've no internet connection and, I can't install a internet connection because the CD-rom won't install the software because, there's no driver for it !


    Do I bite the bullet and take it to one of those horrible PC World things for them to rip me off ??
    Has anybody got any suggestions whose computer savvy ?

    PS: In case anybody wonders how I'm doing this, I'am writing this on my office computer in my works at 9.25pm.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I guess the most obvious that springs to mind is, portable storage, get yourself some kind of memory card, stick or what ever, theres loads out there now a days.
    Download the driver at work, save it onto the stick/card and then take it home and plug it in, being a laptop, you should have either PCMCIA ports or/and USB.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    can you download the driver whilst in work and put it on a disk?

  4. #4
    Regular Member MJED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Scottex, if you can get hold of a USB memory stick/pen, you could transfer the drivers that way, as the USB pen will mount its self as a removable drive. As for the driver for the BT thingy, PM me with your email and I can send it to you.

    Mark

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    The Blackburn End
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the ideas, it will have to be a USB memory stick, no point put it onto disk as the cd-rom in the laptop won't read it as it says the driver is not there o make it happen. Again thanks for the ideas.

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you have a standard 56k modem in the Laptop use that to download what you want using a dial up connection. Depending on the file size it may take a bit longer, but at least it stops you messing around burning discs etc.

  7. #7
    Regular Member joules2.0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats


    Trim : SRI


    Year : 53

    Default

    What OS are you running?

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    N.Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SCOTTEX
    Thanks for the ideas, it will have to be a USB memory stick, no point put it onto disk as the cd-rom in the laptop won't read it as it says the driver is not there o make it happen. Again thanks for the ideas.
    tbh i've never heard of a cd-rom requiring a driver.... well, i know they do need drivers but normally any OS from say windows 98 > will auto recognise the driver. thats puzzled me!

  9. #9
    Regular Member Spikey©'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You don't always need drivers for routers, if it connects to your PC via an ethernet cable rather than USB. Plug it all in and pull up a browser window, type the following in the address bar:

    http://10.0.0.2

    This should bring up the routers set up page, you will probably get asked for an admin username/password which should be in the manual (either paper or pdf on the disc). You should then be able to set the log-in username and password for your ISP manually.

    p.s you shouldn't need a driver for your CD-ROM drive as Windows has native drivers for these, unless of course it's an old laptop and the drive is external then you may need one.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    The Blackburn End
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks Neil, I'll try it but I can't do it today. I'll let you know.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with onboard computer
    By ian124 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th December 2010, 14:50
  2. Got a computer problem, can anyone help?
    By purple170503 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 1st May 2008, 17:01
  3. Computer problem
    By silverhairedracer in forum General Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27th August 2007, 16:48
  4. Fuel Computer Problem
    By VectraV6CDTi in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd November 2006, 22:00
  5. Computer Problem!
    By Caterman in forum Comedy & Humour
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th February 2006, 00:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •