User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VDA Plug question

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default VDA Plug question

    I have the pre-wired VDA plug on my Vectra and have connected it into an Autoleads lead and it works a treat for my phone kit - the only query I have is that there are 2 jack plugs on the lead, one for the speaker and I wondered does anyone know if the VDA lead also provided the connection for a mic? I had assumed that the two jack plugs were to cater for different size conections and so used a separate mic, but I am now thinking the car has a built in mic as part of the pre-wiring???

  2. #2
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    I thought that the VDA plug has all the connections needed; check if the mic is present under the panel of the alarm sensor/behind the interior front light. VDA, aerial and mic are usually part of the pre-wiring kit

  3. #3
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The standard fit mic can be poor fitted to some kits so , plug it in try it with a drive up the road .

  4. #4
    Regular Member willc01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK Motorway Network + some smaller roads
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Where is the VDA plug and what does it look like? I'd like to see if I've got one? Thanks

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cheers for that I will plug it in and see, although as I have already plugged in the standard car kit mic, which works fine I wont rush!!

    Willco1 - if you have the pre-wiring it is behind the glove box. Take out the glove box and then in the top right corner there may be a cable tied up and covered in tape - it will have an 18-pin connector and an aerial lead. By buying the correct Autolead it is literally plug and play into your phone kit (I have a Bury system 8 kit).

  6. #6
    Regular Member willc01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK Motorway Network + some smaller roads
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks SRI150, i'll have it out today and have a look.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by willc01 View Post
    Thanks SRI150, i'll have it out today and have a look.
    It wasn't immediately obvious when I was looking as it is usually taped up and you are on the floor looking up so it is a bit awkward!! GIve me a shout if you need any pics as I will be looking at mine today to sort out the mic wiring so if needs be I can take some pics to point you in the right direction - if you look in the area of the rear of the dash adjacent the stereo you should be ok

  8. #8
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by willc01 View Post
    Where is the VDA plug and what does it look like? I'd like to see if I've got one? Thanks
    Instructions and pics on where to find the VDA-plug and aerial (on a LHD) are on Schelper his site: http://www.put-schelper.de/telefon.html

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Spark Plug & Sump Plug Torque setting - Z18XE Engine
    By wafoo in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th June 2012, 21:15
  2. Radiator drain plug question
    By sr_fly in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th September 2011, 20:41
  3. blue plug display into a grey plug vehicle
    By vxpenfold in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd January 2011, 23:09
  4. Stuck sump plug - oil extractor question
    By cheekylemon in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 2nd January 2009, 00:14
  5. Spark plug question
    By Guyver1 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th November 2008, 18:04

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •