Thread: Planned Euro Road Trip in July - advice wanted

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Question Planned Euro Road Trip in July - advice wanted

Guys & Girls - wanted some help from anyone who has done driving on the continent please.

Myself and the missus are planning our summer hols and after looking at the cost of flights to USA (and remembering the gruelling customs/security on the last trip) we have decided to do Europe this year.

She wants to go to Italy, we're both petrol heads, so more than happy to do an automotive tour of Italy and anything else we find along the way.

I took delivery of a company car last October, so I hit on the idea of driving to the continent - something I've never done before, but I'm more than happy to do, with the added benefit, that I don't need to pay anything extra for insurance/breakdown cover, worry about servicing or tyres etc - just put petrol in the vectra. Also, the more miles I do, the quicker I get another Vectra!

I've been saving up Tesco's clubcard points and have a handy number of Deals vouchers. Looking at these, I can exchange £50 of tesco vouchers for a £199 Eurotunnel flexipass, which seems like a cracking deal. Having never used the Eurotunnel (or ferries) before, does anyone have any advice, or tips on booking etc to offer??

I also stay in hotels a lot with work paying, so have been collecting Holiday Inn Priority club points, so can use these for free nights on the trip where there is a suitable hotel near where we want to be.

Itinerary, we are playing with at the moment is:
    Leicester to Saxony (East Germany) for MotoGP at Sachsenring. Looking at tickets online - start/finish grandstand weekend ticket for 106euros. (F1 at Hockheim was an option but still ridiculously expensive).