User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Sky+ box stuck in standby

  1. #1
    Regular Member pricey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused Sky+ box stuck in standby

    HELP!!!!

    My sky+ box is stuck in standby and won't turn on whatever I try. I've left it unplugged for 1/2 an
    hour and tried again to no avail and i've also tried the forced software download but that
    doesn't work either.

    Does anyone have any ideas, I can't cope with just 5 channels.

  2. #2
    Regular Member shippers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    driffield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You should be ok for entertainment tonight as the decent football is on itv1.....
    My box usually comes on if i turn it off at socket, never had it fail to come on .

  3. #3
    Regular Member pricey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shippers View Post
    You should be ok for entertainment tonight as the decent football is on itv1.....
    Looks like either that or xbox atm.


    Quote Originally Posted by shippers View Post
    My box usually comes on if i turn it off at socket, never had it fail to come on .
    So does mine, i've never had it do this before.

  4. #4
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    We had one do this a little while ago, We got a sky engineer out and he replaced it under warranty, i think he said it was due to Hard drive fault..

  5. #5
    Regular Member shippers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    driffield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have you tried the FBH

  6. #6
    Regular Member Berry38's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Had the same happen to my daughters Sky+ box, tried everything,in the end had Sky engineer come out and had it swapped. I have my system covered so it didn't cost anything.
    Regards Steven

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    N. Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    are you waiting for a few mins after you plug it in? i know min3e will not turn on for at least 30secs after being plugged in. also, sounds abvious but have you tried the standby button on both the box and remote incase its a faulty button on either. one last thing is the lead fully into the box? take it out turn it 180o and stick it back in.THIS WORKD FOR MINE!

  8. #8
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    I hate the idea of being stuck watching just the 5 channels myself so i've just found this link for you :-

    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/s...d.php?t=581572

    Copied from the above site..
    The hard disk failed in my two year old Pace v2 a couple of weeks back which gave the same symptom (box stuck in standby), with the red-light flashing occasionally. Just got a new 250GB Maxtor for £36 to replace it but haven't gotten around to fitting it yet. Also had to get a Torx T-10 screwdriver for £4 from Maplins to open the Sky+ case.

    Confirmed the old HD had failed by taking it out and connecting it to my PC, which upon starting immediately showed a HD failure message.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    Easy, Switch the TV off and go to the pub. There's usually f**k all on anyway. Now we can 'enjoy' 500 channels of carp

  10. #10
    Regular Member BigLad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    30,000ft by day, bed at night
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If its out of the 12 months Sky will try and charge you £65 call out for an engineer, DONT pay it, tell them you want to cancel it, and ask them to put you through to cancellation department (they wont) they will transfer you to retentions then tell em what you want to stay.

    My Sky plus failed a couple of times when I had it, when I moved home and told em I was cancelling got offered, Free move, multiroom and full package for £15 a month for 6 months, cancelled it 6 months after.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Got Stuck!
    By DarylAAS in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th November 2010, 15:41
  2. Swirl Flap Stuck or Not Stuck ??
    By nibblitz in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd November 2010, 17:57
  3. HELP, stuck on A14 18:55 12.05.09
    By chrisf70 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th June 2009, 16:28
  4. EGR Stuck on!
    By Genterz in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th February 2009, 19:03
  5. stuck with her
    By gaz 1982 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 30th June 2007, 14:42

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •